Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Restoring dad's 52 Pontiac Chieftain

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Ross LaPorta, Jun 11, 2021.

1. Ross LaPorta

Ross LaPorta

My dad purchased this car in 1961. After sitting for 47 years I promised him I would not get rid of his first car. I have tons of questions on the restoration I'm not a novice to doing this. but I want to make sure I don't go down a rabbit hole. We are just time keepers to these wonderful cars. That I want to pass on to my grandchildren. So I think I need to modernise some of it for them to keep the car in existence.
    I've accumulated parts for the last 20 years. The straight eight is at the machine shop, the rear diff is being overhauled. All looking good so the Hydramatic will be sent out next.
    I'm new to message board so I'll apologize should I mess it up.

stillrunners, Hnstray and 41 GMC K-18 like this.
  2. 41 GMC K-18

41 GMC K-18
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Way cool, we really appreciate lots of good detailed photographs!

3. 302GMC

302GMC
    from Idaho

You found the right place ... find Phil A's thread on his '51 4 door & read it; Rocky's doing a '50 coupe ...

Some pictures & your location will help.

Hnstray and 41 GMC K-18 like this.
  4. Also, check out the Pontiac/Oakland club.

5. We LOVE pictures.....it also helps us help you...and your dad !

6. TrailerTrashToo

TrailerTrashToo

7. Bird man

Bird man
    from Milwaukee

Much of the suspension is the same as Olds. Engine & trans parts are not too hard to find.
    Have we scared you off?

8. Ross LaPorta

Ross LaPorta

No, trying to figure what to do next I sent engine to the machine shop. Transmission to be evaluated. Rear-end to be overhauled. Trying to learn how to post pictures.

9. indyjps

indyjps