Register now to get rid of these ads!

HOW TO: ipod into hotrod without a radio

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by negativeMatt, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. 2NDCHANCE
    Joined: Sep 11, 2007
    Posts: 904

    2NDCHANCE
    Member

    Thanks for the post. I'm thinking about some tunes for my hot rod. Gary
     
  2. jick
    Joined: Aug 26, 2005
    Posts: 374

    jick
    Member
    from london

    Sgrc


    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  3. Rand Man
    Joined: Aug 23, 2004
    Posts: 3,497

    Rand Man
    Member

    Yeah, I can use something like this to run tune thru my iPhone.
     
  4. praisethelowered
    Joined: Aug 14, 2003
    Posts: 1,103

    praisethelowered
    Member


    I have gone through 2 PAC cables in 2 years- I was searching this thread to see if I could do this adiffierent way. I hate to keep buying a bad product over and over. Everything else works, fuse is good, but the the ipod doesn't charge
     
  5. Barsteel
    Joined: Oct 15, 2008
    Posts: 726

    Barsteel
    Member
    from Monroe, CT

    I was in Wal Mart recently and picked up a small $19.99 Altec Lansing Bluetooth speaker, about 4" x 1" x 2". I paired it with my phone (Samsung Galaxy S7), downloaded the "I heart radio" app, tuned into my favorite station, and perched the speaker on the dash in the defroster slot. That little speaker really kicks. Smartphones can also store downloaded songs just like an Ipod. Total cost = $19.99 plus tax. I can take the speaker wherever I go, in any one of my cars.

    You can also buy a much larger Bluetooth speaker that will rival most car stereos for under $150. They can be charged with an lighter insert that accepts a mini-USB cable, so the speaker won't go dead, although my cheap little speaker is supposed to have a 6 hour play time.

    Easy Peasy...and cheap.

    Chris
     
  6. I have 2 applications Thx for the info guys The plus is now I can transfer my oldies songs from CD's to a MP3.
     
  7. junkyardgenius
    Joined: Dec 29, 2005
    Posts: 791

    junkyardgenius
    Member
    from Kernow

    I,ve got my trusty Creative mp3 player here and a new amp just waiting for my PAC lc-1 volume control to turn up. It says to leave a 2” gap all around the amp for cooling. Am I right in thinking that these things only run hot when driven hard using subs etc. I,m going to be running a couple of 50 watt 6 x 9” speakers.
     
  8. RodStRace
    Joined: Dec 7, 2007
    Posts: 2,293

    RodStRace
    Member

    I'd guess that a computer fan would provide the airflow for smaller gaps, but the manufacturer should have a customer service site and phone line and I'd suggest you contact them, since they are the ones that would warranty it and have more knowledge on the requirements.
    An infrared temp gun would be another tool that would be able to answer your questions, once you know what temps are within normal limits.
     
    Woogeroo and junkyardgenius like this.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.