Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical First 31

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by OutrunthaDebil, Jun 18, 2022.

1. OutrunthaDebil

OutrunthaDebil

Hello Everyone. I am new to the H.A.M.B. and just picked up what I think is a good start of a 1931 Ford model A. It has some suspension issues I am preparing to sort out first by borrowing some car scales to weigh her corners so I can order and set up new suspension components. Currently it has a 4 link coil over set up on the Ford 9in rear end. Up front it has an unknown year of straight axle with "home made" coil overs that have to be replaced.

My first question for you is can you run a drop axle and delete the front leaf spring pack if properly selected coil over shocks are installed. I did some searching and could not find any photos or articles covering this setup, I only found coil overs with IFS setups.

Thank you for you help.

2. Doublepumper

Doublepumper
    from WA-OR, USA

Welcome. We are going to need more info. Posting up some clear pics of what you have will help immensely.

VANDENPLAS likes this.
  3. Budget36

Budget36

Pics for those who know, would help;). I wonder it you have one the old time add on coil spring setups? Or are there shocks inside the coils?
    Anyways, as been said pics will help.

4. AHotRod

AHotRod

Clear, large, detailed pictures needed

5. OutrunthaDebil

OutrunthaDebil

Ok, so first pic shows the most of the home made coil over. It appears the took a spring of unknown origin and rough cut a top and bottom cap to keep it on the shock. The top plate free float and are only held down by the shock bolt (item 1). Also note the triangular mounting bracket from 1" square tube (item 2). And lastly is the rough cut flat bracket crudely welded to the axle (items 3&4).