Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 05:50 PM   #1
liljonny
Grenade Inspector
 
liljonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: monrovia,ca
Posts: 228
Question 235 fenton with dual climatic question

So I finally got my fenton dual 1bbl intake for my 58 biscayne. So for now I'm gonna run my stock exhaust manifold w/ heat riser. My front carb choke will be connected to the original heat riser tube from the manifold. Now the back carb is my question... can I place a fitting on the choke and run tubing to the threaded hole on the side of the manifold? I know on my stock manifold that's where the old wiper hose went to. I need heat right? Is that sufficient? Thanks
__________________
Never sell yourself short
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:23 PM   #2
wawuzit
Newbie
 
wawuzit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: tennessee
Posts: 65
Default Re: 235 fenton with dual climatic question

I'm not sure I understand exactly what you're saying. But if you keep the orginal exhaust manifold you'll have to use a plate to block the exhaust gases from coming out or you'll have exhaust going both ways (top and bottom), The Fenton intake will not match up to the orginal exhaust, You can install a heat kit and run tubing to the intake from the exhaust. As far as Vacuum goes you can put a tee on the intake if you need two vacuum sources.


Last edited by wawuzit; 10-06-2012 at 06:30 PM.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:46 PM   #3
liljonny
Grenade Inspector
 
liljonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: monrovia,ca
Posts: 228
Default Re: 235 fenton with dual climatic question

I'm going to have a dual 1bbl intake. Not a single intake like u have in your picture.
__________________
Never sell yourself short
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-07-2012, 02:26 AM   #4
liljonny
Grenade Inspector
 
liljonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: monrovia,ca
Posts: 228
Default Re: 235 fenton with dual climatic question

So I guess my next question should be... is anyone with a dual fenton 1bbl running dual climatic choke 1bbl rochesters? And how did you hook up both chokes? Thanks
__________________
Never sell yourself short
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:10 AM   #5
Inline
Grenade Inspector
 
Inline's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 131
Default Re: 235 fenton with dual climatic question

I'm running a repo offy intake with dual 1bbl rochesters with a stock exhaust manifold. The front carb is connected to the original heat riser tube and I removed the choke completley on the rear carb. This has worked great and I never have a problem with it starting. It's similar to original v8 factory tripower setups with the center carb only having a choke.

If you wanted to run dual chokes, why not get another one of the sheetmetal pieces that the heat riser tube goes into and place it on the rear of the exhaust manifold?

If you run tubing to the threaded hole of the intake, you probably will have a vacuum leak as the choke mechanisms are not sealed.

Dave
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:33 AM   #6
Curt B
Grenade Inspector
 
Curt B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 325
Default Re: 235 fenton with dual climatic question

Quote:
Originally Posted by wawuzit View Post
The Fenton intake will not match up to the orginal exhaust,
It did for me. Either fab a second heat stove/pipe or if it's ugly get rid of it all together. X2 on choking only one carb as I have the front one wired open and a cable to the rear.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 196.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	370.5 KB
ID:	1758757  
__________________

offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:43 AM   #7
270ci
Grenade Inspector
 
270ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 127
Default Re: 235 fenton with dual climatic question

There is no need to run two chokes...all of the factory dual carb applications used only one because it works better with a single choke and you do not have the additional hassle of trying to synchronize both to be fully open or closed at the same time. why make it more complicated?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 02:08 PM   #8
liljonny
Grenade Inspector
 
liljonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: monrovia,ca
Posts: 228
Default Re: 235 fenton with dual climatic question

Thanks guys. Since the choke is on the carb can I just put like an acorn nut on it ? Or do I need to have it removed? I've never removed a choke before.
__________________
Never sell yourself short
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:10 PM   #9
liljonny
Grenade Inspector
 
liljonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: monrovia,ca
Posts: 228
Default Re: 235 fenton with dual climatic question

Bump
__________________
Never sell yourself short
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:24 PM   #10
servi53
Grenade Inspector
 
servi53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: east peoria IL.
Posts: 338
Default Re: 235 fenton with dual climatic question

sounds like Curt said he just wired open the one that he's not using
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:38 PM   #11
liljonny
Grenade Inspector
 
liljonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: monrovia,ca
Posts: 228
Default Re: 235 fenton with dual climatic question

How would I do that with a climatic choke. My rochesters look similar to curt but mine are both off a 58. I think those are earlier. I have a threaded nipple coming out the round choke cap.
__________________
Never sell yourself short
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:46 PM   #12
Kirk Wilmes
Alliance Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Altus, OK
Posts: 91
Default

I have the front carb on mine that operates the advance on the distributor and the second one has a plug in it.

Sent from my DROID device using the TJJ mobile app
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.