Register now to get rid of these ads!

1949 Merc Build - Any Ideas

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by BuilderRhys, Nov 14, 2009.

1. BuilderRhys

BuilderRhys

Hello All,
    I am just beginning a long awaited 1949 Merc project. I always like to do full blown fabrication on my cars and this one will be no different. I have recently retired my 94 Mark VIII, which I drove on a daily bassis for ten years. Just wondering if any one has done the same, grafted a Mark VIII to an old Merc. Thanks, Rhys. IMGP3338.jpg

IMGP3355.jpg

2. twochops

twochops

Dick Dean did a 51 Merc on a Mark ,not sure of the year.

Attached Files:

3. BuilderRhys

BuilderRhys

Looks like he dropped the Merc body on the Mark VIII Unibody. I was going to graft in the Merc frame, weld in the IFS and IRS. I was wondering about the dash dimensions on my build as the Mark VIII is about 3" wider and it does look like the posts on this car are too narrow to clear. This info is great, I really appreciate it. Thanks, Rhys.

4. Swaps like this are a HUGE undertaking. Is the frame on the Merc bad? If you are set on updating the suspension, a Mustang II front suspension or Nova front clip would be waaaaaaaaay easier and probably a cleaner install, still allowing all the creature comforts if that is what you are after. My 51 has the Nova clip with power steering, disc brakes, small block and 700R4 that gets 22 mpg. You'd be hard pressed to tell the difference with a full swap over onto that Lincoln with a ton less work.

Also, for the love of all things good, please do not put the late model dash in the Merc....the original Merc dash just looks soooo nice and a modern dash just doesn't have the right look in there.....my two cents...

5. Someone needs to post up a link to the guy in Detroit who has been swapping a Merc onto a 88-ish Lincoln town car frame/pans, lots of pics on that guy's site.