Register now to get rid of these ads!

WWII hotrod tug

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bowlingball, Aug 1, 2011.

1. bowlingball

bowlingball
    from Australia

hey guys just thought id show you some fun weve been having at work with an old aircraft tug,,,Im a Helicopter engineer by trade and well weve had this old girl laying around for some time at work and the old dodge 6 has nearly given up th ghost ,so i grabbed our new apprentice ((ricer driver)) and decided to learn him up on hot rodding,its 42 model ?? with what looks to be an old kew motor but its data plater says chrysler industrial engine(in art deco font) 3 speed no syncro box ,,,,it weighs 5 ton and will currently change the rotation of the earth if you wanted to pull it,,,
    weve put in an aussie 253ci small block and what we call a trimatic (traumatic) gearbox,,,they are cheap over here and good low revving compact in size,,,it is left hand drive so ive converted it to power steering but used our RHD holden (GM) box etc set up side steer ,,,new paint seats and block huggers will be fabbed up here at work ,,,,we usually lend this tug to the erikson skycranes when they are stationed here for the forrest fire season as it is one of the only tugg with the low gearing to drag those things around ,,,but next season theyll be smoking rubber and wheelstanding in this jigger!!!!!
    Ive posted the pics to see if i can get any more info on the tug,,apart from the data plate the only other infor is cast into the rear bumper and it just says Illanois,,hope you like it,Flames dropped axle and loud pipes are on the way

Attached Files:

2. bowlingball

bowlingball
    from Australia