Register now to get rid of these ads!

Wide 5 Question? vs 5 on 5 1/2

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by MattStrube, Dec 8, 2003.

1. MattStrube

MattStrube

Can the wide 5 banjo & axel housings from 36-37 ford be used with 5 on 5 1/2 bolt pattern? If so, how?

2. Roothawg

Roothawg

Man I don't see how. But I am no banjo expert.

3. I guess the question is... if you found a wide five set up... axle, wishbone, brakes etc... is any of it good for anything?
    Sam.

4. MattStrube

MattStrube

Yea, that's the question, but I wanted to gains some knowledge too brother...:)

5. Kevin Lee

Kevin Lee
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

The main difference with the wide five stuff is the hub/drum. So swap them out to later Ford stuff and everything else works fine. Not sure I understand your question...did I answer it?

I think you could sum it up by saying you could put quite a few differnt combinations of old Ford stuff together and have it work properly with little or no modification. But I don't see any way you're going to cram a 5 on 5 1/2 wheel on a wide five drum if that's where you were headed.

6. Roothawg

Roothawg

OK, I'm with ya now. I thought you were trying to us existing parts to do it.

7. manyolcars

manyolcars

of course. it doesnt matter which axle assembly you use, the wide 5 and the 5 1/2 drums interchange

8. Kevin Lee

Kevin Lee
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

So you'll need to start looking for 39-48 backing plates and all of their hydraulic accoutrements - e-brake stuff is sometimes hard to come by and most "rebuildable" wheel cylinders arent. You'll also need 40-48 hubs, and I think that's about it. It's pretty much a bolt on deal. No spacers or wierd bearings needed.

I've heard wheel cylinders are available at NAPA (price?) and a few moths ago I paid a grand total of $11 for new brake shoes (two wheels worth) at the local brake and clutch place.

Forgot to ask...what are you building?

9. MattStrube

MattStrube