Register now to get rid of these ads!

Where have you mounted your Tach? Kustoms and Hot Rods

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by zep058, Feb 20, 2013.

  1. Steves32
    Joined: Aug 28, 2007
    Posts: 1,280

    Steves32
    Member
    from So Cal

    Gotta ask-
    Why a tach in a kustom?
     
  2. No reason a beautiful car can't have a hot powerplant!

    ...and as we have seen in earlier posts, it can be done VERY stylishly!
     
  3. EZ Cool
    Joined: Nov 17, 2011
    Posts: 261

    EZ Cool
    Alliance Vendor

    There's no tack on that tick tock

    here's a tick tock tach
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 22, 2013
  4. saltflats
    Joined: Aug 14, 2007
    Posts: 10,744

    saltflats
    Member
    from Missouri

    You folks need to look closer and read my first post.
    Shit it worked fooled you.
     
  5. I mounted a sun tach on the column of my floor shift 75 cutlass back when I was young.
    It fit nicely in the right gauge pod where the clock was. Being very excited to see it work, I backed it out of the driveway, threw it in low, and labeled the gas.
    But the tach was gone!!! Wtf????
    I threw it in park and it magically appeared....
    This was when I learned that floor shift cars were still connected to the steering column so that the neutral safety switch would still work...
     
  6. Gator
    Joined: Dec 29, 2005
    Posts: 4,016

    Gator
    Member

    Moon tach on the column of my '55 - simple 'old school' radiator clamp mount. ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Canuck
    Joined: Jan 4, 2002
    Posts: 1,077

    Canuck
    Member

    Outside corner under the dash in my 30 Coupe. Dash is 34 Chevy Master. Bracket is home made.

    Canuck
     

    Attached Files:

  8. primed34
    Joined: Feb 3, 2007
    Posts: 1,171

    primed34
    Member

    On the column in my '55. Didn't want to drill holes in my dash, but tachs looker cooler on the dash.
     
  9. chubbie
    Joined: Jan 14, 2009
    Posts: 2,314

    chubbie
    Member

    FLAWLESS!!! 100% perfection any questions??? any one?
     
  10. old buzz
    Joined: Jan 14, 2013
    Posts: 22

    old buzz
    Member
    from middle tn

    On the dash where it belongs!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 017.JPG
      017.JPG
      File size:
      321.3 KB
      Views:
      46
  11. iammarvin
    Joined: Oct 7, 2009
    Posts: 1,197

    iammarvin
    BANNED
    from Tulare, Ca

    My boat steering column needs some help, thought this thread may help me. Wanna mount the speedo and tach in this column mount. How would I drill out this chrome peace?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. KUSTOM 50
    Joined: Sep 20, 2005
    Posts: 250

    KUSTOM 50
    Member

    Made a bracket to mount above console
     

    Attached Files:

  13. vetrod62
    Joined: Jan 2, 2010
    Posts: 341

    vetrod62
    Member
    from Towaco NJ

    Hot rodding this 62 vette for 46 years. Dash replacement is really expensive. Pad.. $300+, labor to remove the windshield, instrument cluster, Pass side trim, over a $1000. Who would be dumb enough to destroy such an expensive installation?? I guess me.

    Where do you mount the tach?? On the new dash of course, It is the highest part you can see while running the gears down the track. Screw the purists.

    I guess the answer is up as high as you can.



    [​IMG]


    And for some practical application.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0iKfIrZd2I8
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.