Register now to get rid of these ads!

What primer to use with DuPont Centari as the topcoat??

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by CoalTownKid, Aug 11, 2008.

1. CoalTownKid

CoalTownKid

I'm new to the DuPont world having been much more familiarized with PPG products. However, I've since talked with several fellows who have loved DuPont Centari for its ability to give good stock finsihes reminiscent of the 30s 40 and 50s.

So, my question is what primer is best to sue with a solid DuPont Centari topcoat? Could I actually use PPG's DP40 primer?

Thanks.

2. FeO2

FeO2

Is DP40 a sandable primer? If so, it should work fine. Charlie

3. CoalTownKid

CoalTownKid

I do believe it is, as we've scuffed it up before adding another coat, inbetween coats to stuff?? I'll make sure either way,..thanks

4. SlowandLow63

SlowandLow63
    from Central NJ

DP40 is non-sanding. I would stick within DuPont's line, though I'm not familiar either. I personally think Centari is junk, and bad for you to boot, but I have used it before on quick repaints at work.

5. gas pumper

gas pumper

And here on the other end of NJ, I think Centari is great stuff. But I'm a garage painter doing one every two years. Not a pro.

I tought Centari was a great improvement over DuLux enamel.

Not for Show cars, modern cars or for an experianced profesional doing work for profit in a real shop.

But for the hobbyist doing his own and not wanting perfect, it's simple fast and pretty bulletproof. I've painted outside in a snow shower with it:eek:

I still use laquer primer under it because I can wait a day or two between primer and finish coats.

6. SlowandLow63

SlowandLow63
    from Central NJ

I'm no pro either, but I am really picky. To each his own, I could name 10 other lines that are nicer and cost about the same.

7. gas pumper

gas pumper

Bill, I didn't mean that post as a knock to you, I've read a lot of your advice on paint here and see you know what you're doing.