Register now to get rid of these ads!

What kind of battery do you run? Location etc.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by clockwork31, Nov 21, 2011.

1. clockwork31

clockwork31

Hi, I'm building a 31 model A sedan, I have very little knowledge when it comes to electricity. I need to find what kind of battery to run, I have minimal space cause I have a backseat and the gas tank is behind it, I'm planning to place it on the firewall behind the dash but I'd prefer under the floor. I've heard good things about dry cell Odyssey batteries, I need one strong enough to crank a 327.

So my questions are,

Where your battery is located?

Any issue with the firewall mounting?

What kind do you run? Odyssey PC680 or PC925 are the size I'm looking for but is it powerfull enough to crank a small block?

thanks for your advice.

2. Don's Hot Rods

Don's Hot Rods
    from florida

I ran the Odyssey 680 in my 23 because I had a real space problem and it was terrific. It would sit for weeks and never failed to crank the engine or to hold a good charge.

When I first saw them I was skeptical because of the small size (7 x 3 x 3) so I called the factory and spoke with the CEO. I told him I was going to use it with a 350 sbc and worried it wouldn't crank it. He told me his car has a 700 hp blown bbc and it cranks it just fine. Turned out he was right. I know some guys who have the same battery mounted under the dash, it is that compact.

Mine was mounted clear in the back of the 23 and even the longer cables were not a problem.

Don

3. squirrel

squirrel

I use the cheapest battery I can get at walmart, and put it in the stock location. Under the floor is a good place for the battery.

One problem with getting a special expensive hard to find battery and making the car so it needs that battery, is that when it dies you might be stuck without being able to find a new battery.

Notice I said "when it dies" not "if it dies"

4. JeffreyJames

JeffreyJames