Register now to get rid of these ads!

what body filler to use?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Dan, Sep 18, 2003.

1. Dan

Dan

Ahwile ago there was a discussion about this topic but I can't seem to find it. What body filler does everyone recommend? Bear in mind that I am a complete novice at bodywork- Thanks

2. FONZI

FONZI

I like the Rage Gold.

FONZI

3. Evercoat, but what do I know I am a novice also, and I HATE body work...

4. 40StudeDude

40StudeDude

Rage Evercoat...use the gold...it's the best!
    R-

5. DrJ

DrJ

Go to the nearest professional auto paint distributor-store and get whatever brand they carry that is the easy-sanding, doesn't clog sandpaper type.
    Let your wallet judge what $quality$ you need.
    Most of them are at least similar, and many come out of the same mixing vat and just get different labels.
    It's basically polyester resin and clay although some have chopped fiberglass and some have "micro balloons" instead of the clay for lightness. I;m undecided about that becauseI think it's like putting an airbubble behind the paint to expand in the sunlight.
    A lot of people call it all "bondo" but few pros actually recommend actually using Bondo brand.
    But, I used it (Bondo) on my truck because it's presence in the field, and on the shelves at Pep Boys, is "traditional" and it hasn't given me any noticable problems and it was painted over ten years ago in Acrylic Lacquer.
    PS
    Evercoat is what's on my shelf now, too

6. Dan

Dan

Does this stuff come from Napa, CarQuest, Bumper to Bumper...???

7. Humboldt Cat

Humboldt Cat
    from Eureka, CA

I, too, am a novice, been doing filler work for almost year on my truck with a brand called Z-Grip which works out better for me than the Bondo brand itself. They have different levels of 'weight' (light weight, etc.) depending on the age of your body metal, and the depth of work you need to cover.