Register now to get rid of these ads!

Wanting to start an automotive class- give advice

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by thepolecat, Aug 18, 2009.

1. thepolecat

thepolecat
    1. S.F.C.C.

Ok fellow HAMBers,

I am a teacher in Georgia and my county has done away with vocational degrees. All students are now expected to go a college route. I am trying to convince the board that we need to keep and infact, expand out automotive program in the county. It can teach all the physics in the world, chemistry, earth sciences, etc. I am going to incorperate CAD programming in it and I have my own milling equipment. What I need is some public opinion about why it is important to keep and expand these programs.

I love cars- always have- and I want to pass the joy down by teaching them classic and modern automobilia.

And if you have some good input or are a professional in the field i may be using this in my arguements.

Thanks everyone!!

2. atomickustom

atomickustom

I have been a college professor for fifteen years and I can attest to the fact that every single high school student should NOT go to college. Some students simply do not have the right set of innate abilities to get a college degree, just as some individuals simply do not have the right set of innate abilities to be a great artist or mechanic.

I believe it is important to keep and expand the sort of programs you are talking about because they provide an avenue to a good, productive, and useful job that is currently closed off to anyone (like my brother) who can not or will not complete a college degree.