Register now to get rid of these ads!

Unexpected Find..Summer of '62

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by adjustablejohnsons, May 25, 2009.

1. My aunt stopped by this morning and gave me a collection of papers that had belonged to my Mom. I don't know why it took her 37 years from my Mom's death to think to give them to me, but today she handed them over. Baptism certificates, report cards, Boy Scout membership card, etc. Two items made me break out in an ear-to-ear smile.

Picture number one is from the local paper and shows me and friends getting stopped by the law when we were on our way to the swimming hole.

[​IMG]

Picture number two is the product of my being bored in 11th grade (1961-62) geometry class. The teacher couldn't see more than six feet, and we got away with murder in her class....I'm no artist, but I must have drawn thousands of these type of drawings....Mom kept one...bless her...

[​IMG]

2. turdchazer

turdchazer
    Member Emeritus
    from Spokane

I wish my Mom would have saved even half the car and truck pictures I used to draw as a young'un:(

Very Cool!!!!:cool:

3. tattedfordguy

tattedfordguy

Dude thats some good stuff

4. ironandsteele

ironandsteele

WOW-that's really cool. you're lucky to get those back.

5. That is awesome! I am sure that brought back a stream of memories. I had a similar experiance last year visiting my mom. I did not realize my parents saved so much of my old art that was packed away all these years.

6. That's really cool! Ya scofflaw... :D

Gee, and all this time I thought your name WAS "adjustable johnsons", too... the truth comes out! :D

7. I was stunned to see what was in this windfall. Then I realized that we have done the same thing with our kids (grown-ups now...41 and 39). Time to give them each of their goody boxes, and not let them find them after we're gone.