Register now to get rid of these ads!

Tranny for a 56 Pontiac

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by R.Reynolds, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. R.Reynolds
    Joined: Oct 17, 2011
    Posts: 21

    R.Reynolds
    Member
    from florida

    im wanting to put an over drive tranny in my 56 pontiac...any ideas?
     
  2. 55chieftain
    Joined: May 29, 2007
    Posts: 2,180

    55chieftain
    Member

    Wilcap and Bentsens make an adapter for the 55-60 blocks for newer trans pattern.
     
  3. X2 on the adaptors. Perhaps 55Chieftan can give you some ideas on fitment, too. If not, Pontiac Years Tech Forum is a good place for advice. http://performanceyears.com/ I was looking to do the same with my '63 Catalina. The 700R4 was large enough that major floorpan surgery was necessary. But, the 2004R wud fit with a few taps with a BMFH.
     
  4. R.Reynolds
    Joined: Oct 17, 2011
    Posts: 21

    R.Reynolds
    Member
    from florida

    awsome thanks....
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. poncho55
    Joined: Oct 12, 2011
    Posts: 29

    poncho55
    Member

    I just got my Wilcap adapter today. Assembling all of the components - got the Mopar starter, modifying the 2 barrel carb to accept TV and throttle linkage, looking into a new plastic display to move from RD1D2D3N to PRNDD3D2D1, thinking about a switch for the lock up into overdrive.... Should have everything ready for install before the spring arrives as I just put the car away. $575 for the adapter, $65 for the starter, $225 for the 200 4R core, $700 for it to be rebuilt with Torque converter... in for a penny..
     
  6. 55yak
    Joined: Nov 5, 2011
    Posts: 41

    55yak
    Member

    I'm putting a Chevy 700 R-4 in my 55 with a Bendtsens adapter kit, but I sure need advice on building mounts. Keep me posted on your project.
     
  7. poncho55
    Joined: Oct 12, 2011
    Posts: 29

    poncho55
    Member

    Will do. Mine will start in the spring again as I just put her in storage for the winter.
     
  8. rusty A
    Joined: Apr 3, 2007
    Posts: 125

    rusty A
    Member

    You never said what kind of engine you are run. My friend put a T5 with a 6 cylinder in his 56 and it bolted right up. Just a thought.
     
  9. 55chieftain
    Joined: May 29, 2007
    Posts: 2,180

    55chieftain
    Member

    Maybe in a Canadian Pontiac eh

     
  10. I'd lean towards a 200R4 in a Pontiac only because the 700 is long and may not clear the frame X crossmember. They're fairly wide with the bottom offset to the right a bit, too.

    That said, if the stock hydramatic transmission is working, you don't need the overdrive. It's already a 4-speed trans and the gears in the back are likely around a 3.08 and it should cruise all day at 65.
     
  11. GassersGarage
    Joined: Jul 1, 2007
    Posts: 4,735

    GassersGarage
    Member

    I just installed the Wilcap Adapter in my '63 Grand Prix. The plate had to be modified and the spacer had to be milled, plus it took 2 weeks to get. Bendsten had the kit in stock.
     
  12. 55yak
    Joined: Nov 5, 2011
    Posts: 41

    55yak
    Member

    I'm putting a 700 R-4 into my 55 Chieftain with a Bendtson adapter to a 57 347 and I thought building mounts would be my big problem. Now that I have an empty trans mission case for mock up, I find out it is one hell of a bad (read tight) fit in that tunnel. I'm looking at major surgery here and I'm beginning to feel I am in over my head. Has anyone else put one of these 700's in a tri-year Pontiac?
     
  13. ClassicDriver
    Joined: Mar 8, 2010
    Posts: 112

    ClassicDriver
    Member

    I realize this is a very old thread...

    55yak - Did you get the 700 R-4 in you 55 Chieftain? If you got in, did you have to do a bunch of surgery on the tunnel?
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.