Register now to get rid of these ads!

To weld or not to weld

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Michigan Don, Mar 13, 2014.

1. Michigan Don

Michigan Don

In addition to the some major panel repair/replacement on my Starliner I've also got several areas that require only minor surgery. I've got no welding experience, but my Uncle told me to pick up a low cost welder (< $100) and go at it. I've read some on the issue and it seems that most people prefer a TIG over a MIG and like gas over the wire feed. If I go the low cost approach then it would be a MIG wire or perhaps a standard stick (110v). I'm pretty handy and am not afraid to learn as I go. I don't want to go big as I have to have someone else do the major work anyway.
    Does this sound like a good idea or not? I have several small areas that only need filling without any patches, and the patches would be small (a few inches in places like the core support and not body panels).

Thanks.

2. TULSA

TULSA
    from Tulsa

A cheap welder does not work for body work. They will cause more issues than they will help a decent miller or Lincoln flux core would work. But gas is best. Better learn how to mig before you think about tig. Maybe find a local car guy that can weld to help you?

3. TULSA

TULSA
    from Tulsa

Also no way on stick. Invest in a used mig welder. Minimum of $300 for an ok machine. Any less, steer clear.

4. afaulk

afaulk

a Mig (wire feed, with gas) will be a LOT cheaper and a MUCH quicker for you to learn than TIG. Buy a little mig setup 150-175 amp. It can do a wide range of tasks.

5. buy a torch, dollar for dollar your best investment. heat, weld, and cut.

6. pasadenahotrod

pasadenahotrod
    from Texas