Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Temperature gauges for a flathead

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by flatheadfever, Jan 9, 2015.

  1. image.jpg I want to install after market temp gauges on my flathead in my 38 Tudor.
    The stock one is not hooked up.
    I figured I would install a sending unit in each head.
    I like the look of the Stewart Warner gauges. I looked for used ones but I'm not really sure what I need.
    What are my options without breaking the bank?
    Thanks
     
  2. choppedtudor
    Joined: Nov 28, 2009
    Posts: 660

    choppedtudor
    Member

    how about using 2 sending units and ONE gauge...a switch to connect one side at a time...most dashes don't have space for 2 water gauges...just a thought.
     
  3. Brentphx
    Joined: Aug 12, 2014
    Posts: 256

    Brentphx
    Member

    I researched this for my own car- the Westach site shows a dual sweep gauge like this (provided for visual reference)

    An email reply from Westach says that they do have a 12v 2" dual water temp gauge- 2DC3-7 100-260F. It's $121 plus the two senders at $35 ea. compared to generic autometer gauges at $60 ea x2 that come with senders.... $70 to have it on one dial... decisions decisions. At least there is an option!
     
  4. Iron Dog
    Joined: Oct 28, 2011
    Posts: 267

    Iron Dog
    Member
    from Minnesota

    I just ordered another temp gauge when I bought the kit from Omega. My dash is not the original configuration, so I just put one on each side of the speedo. Works great.
     

    Attached Files:

    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. Andy
    Joined: Nov 17, 2002
    Posts: 4,556

    Andy
    Member

    Image 5.jpg I am running one gauge and two senders. I have a two way switch and toggle between them every so often. I bought the SW stuff from Speedway.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2015
  6. Does it have to be a six volt sending units?
    I'm running 6 v
     
  7. 38 coupe
    Joined: May 11, 2008
    Posts: 155

    38 coupe
    Member
    from Texas

    The stock gauge can be repaired / replaced. The stock gauge is a thermometer. Buy part number
    91A-10883 and swap out the sheet metal scale for the one in your dash. You don't really need two gauges, if one side gets hot the other side does too.

    An after market gauge will not fit in the stock location, you would have to hang it under the dash.
     
  8. frosty-49
    Joined: Oct 13, 2014
    Posts: 118

    frosty-49
    Member

    I run 2 gauges under my dash,both mechanical. It will let me if something is wrong before it does any damage. Cheap too
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.