Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Source of hot coolant for heater

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 41woodie, Mar 8, 2017.

1. 41woodie

41woodie

Trying to keep things as unobtrusive as possible when running heater hoses, can any of you think of a reason why the pressure side cannot be tapped off of the 1/2"npt plug on the passenger side head of a sbc. If it's doable it wouldn't stick out like a sore thumb as badly as taking it off the intake manifold.

2. mrloboy

mrloboy

yes. I am sure it would work. You still need to turn a return line. Don't see any advantage.

3. I'm not an expert, but...........
    It might restrict the coolant flow from one bank compared to the other. Don'no??
    The cooling of the block and heads is one system engineered to work a certain way and the heater is another system engineered to take heated water from a certain place at a certain temp. Though they share the heated coolant, they seem to be parallel systems and never series systems. Changing all that around may affect some sort of balance that you don't want. Like I said, I don't really know. But there must be a reason cars have always come from the factory plumbed the way they do.

4. 41woodie

41woodie

The return line would run to the water pump as normal, I'm just trying to keep things low in the engine compartment. I know it's the price of running a heater but I'd really like to not have the hose up on the intake manifold

5. Engine man

Engine man
    from Wisconsin

It shouldn't bother anything. Not much different than coming off of the back of the intake manifold.

6. Local builder has had some fittings made up to use the new style ac hose as heater. 3/8 hose much smaller and does the job. Hose is very flexible. Vintage air sells the a/c hose as an option.

7. 41woodie

41woodie

thanks for the info on the a/c hose, does your bud sell the fittings?

8. squirrel

squirrel