Register now to get rid of these ads!

so who wants to give me a lesson?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hotrodlolita, Jul 2, 2007.

1. hotrodlolita

hotrodlolita

i am trying to find more out about era specific hotrod from the 40's to the early sixties.... what was a common thing to do.... how can you tell what gos and what doesn't?
    how can you tell what style to do with certin types of cars.....

i am a newbie but i really want to know how things should be put together......

not just a buncha junk throw together....

because
    i haven't found anyone in my neck of the woods that is n the up and up with this stuff .....

2. Just check it out. I don't think anybody can tell you everything about being traditional. Read, look, and, learn. You'll get it. I'll also bet there is a bunch of people to hang out with in Paso that know whats kool.

3. Kustom7777

Kustom7777
    from Austin, TX

get yourself some of the "little books" from back in the day,,,rod & custom, custom rodder, customs illustrated,,there were many different mags,,,and the Trend custom car annuals are excellent (these mags are on ebay all the time, as well in the hamb classifieds)..,,,,if you can find the 4 volumes of barris kustom techniques of the fifties, they are a great source too,,,andy southard put out a great book called custom cars of the 1950s,,and pat ganahls book "the american custom car" is definitely required reading,,,,if you read enough of this stuff, you will develop a "feel" for what is period correct

4. hotrodlolita

hotrodlolita

thats what i am saying i haven't found ayoneyet that knows the difference.....maybe i am looking i the wrong places........

also all the guys up here are like hermits when it come to stuff like this unless you know the right questions to ask them they look at you like your a douche bag...

i guess i'd like to know what to start noticing...... is the question i am wanting an answer to

5. squirrel

squirrel