Register now to get rid of these ads!

SBF/302 Gurus... can you help a newb out with decoding/identification?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by EchoOfGecko, Jan 28, 2012.

1. EchoOfGecko

EchoOfGecko

I recently picked up a 302 and transmission for my Ford, but it was not in a car when I bought it. I'm pretty sure I have everything decoded but I was hoping some folks with more experience could confirm for me. I'm really a newb when it comes to these American engines, I'm more used to VW stuff.

All I know is it supposedly has ~800 miles since it was rebuilt. It supposedly has an RV cam. I can tell it was in a van (I think) because it has a rear-sump pan with a dipstick in the pan and a long tube that exits near the dizzy. It has a new looking converter, flexplate, crank, valve springs and rockers, and some other stuff, but I haven't been able to pull the heads yet and measure the bore.

The block code is D4DE-6015-BA (I think 1974 Maverick 302?).

Trans code is RF-D0AP-7006-C (Maybe 1970 Full Size C4?), does the RF mean refurbished? I assume it's a C4, looks too small to be a C6, and too old to be an AOD. Plus no TV port that I can see.

It also had a Duraspark dizzy and coil, Edelbrock 1406, and Performer 289 manifold.

Any input would be greatly appreciated before I start buying parts for it. :)

Sorry for the crap photos...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. mjlangley

mjlangley
    from SE MI

Keep in mind that the block number you reference is the block casting number, basically the block can't be any older the 1974, but it could be newer as Ford wouldn't have revised the casting number until they changed the design...

The casting number on the cylinder head is underneath the intake port, you have to reomve the intake manifold and use a mirror to read it...

Cool valve covers...

3. EchoOfGecko

EchoOfGecko