Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical SBC positioning on a 1930 model A advice

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jeff020571, Jan 25, 2014.

  1. jeff020571
    Joined: Nov 9, 2011
    Posts: 72

    jeff020571
    Member
    from france

    Hello,
    It's time for me to position my 350 sbc engine on my stock boxed model A chassis.
    I'm looking for some advices, measurement or anything that could help me to do it correctly ?
    Pictures are welcome.
    Thanks
    Jeff
     
  2. bgaro
    Joined: Sep 3, 2010
    Posts: 1,189

    bgaro
    Member

    do you have the body on? recessed firewall? shove it as far forward as you can. about an inch radiator to fan clearance (for mechanical fan). u better have a short water pump on there too. level at the carb.
     
  3. Look at mine in my avatar. Will try and get you the measurements maybe today. I am running a boxed model A frame, however my car is an old drag car and is pretty heavily modified.
     
  4. ruralrod
    Joined: Dec 10, 2002
    Posts: 491

    ruralrod
    Member

    What he said. You def need body on. Enough room for distributor to clear firewall. It's tight.


    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     

  5. Agreed! A LOT OF ROOM, SPACE, is what you DONT HAVE!!!! Carefull planning is required !!
     
  6. Devin
    Joined: Dec 28, 2004
    Posts: 2,351

    Devin
    Member
    from Napa, CA

    Aside from forward and aft measurements, position the engine high enough so that the fan is somewhat centered in the radiator. I didn't take this into consideration and my fan only covers the bottom half of the radiator and a little bit of the crossmember. It doesn't overheat but I wish I factored this in from the beginning


    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  7. F-6Garagerat
    Joined: Apr 12, 2008
    Posts: 2,652

    F-6Garagerat
    Member

    There are lots of pics including my firewall recess in my build thread. Click the link below. My frame is unboxed and it's a front mount 1957 283 but a lot of the same stuff applies.
     
  8. 325w
    Joined: Feb 18, 2008
    Posts: 5,749

    325w
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Look into a zips water pump adapter. That will get the fan up.
     
  9. HomemadeHardtop57
    Joined: Nov 15, 2007
    Posts: 4,244

    HomemadeHardtop57
    Member

    I always mount the radiator first, then the engine with fan installed. When that's in place the body can go on and you can determine how much of a firewall recess you'll need
     
  10. Devin
    Joined: Dec 28, 2004
    Posts: 2,351

    Devin
    Member
    from Napa, CA

    Yeah I saw those. So far I haven't had a cooling problem, but if I do the zips pump is course I'll take.


    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  11. barobert
    Joined: Apr 14, 2010
    Posts: 104

    barobert
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

  12. go-twichy
    Joined: Jul 22, 2010
    Posts: 1,650

    go-twichy
    BANNED

    don't do as I did and install a bitchin firewall. while it did give me the clearance needed, the look is lacking to me. I do have a fix in mind though. like others have said, mount the radiator first, and work your way back. up and down is important to keep track of to, as the trans hump will have to fit or be modified. also have your headers on hand to work out steering box clearance problems as it gets tight on the driver side. I can give you measurements if you like say from the center of the radiator bolt, to the center of the motor mounts if that will help you. i'll find a pic of my 30 coupe showing a side view shot of things if that will help. I had it all layed out and tacked, and then ended up moving it at least once.
     
  13. go-twichy
    Joined: Jul 22, 2010
    Posts: 1,650

    go-twichy
    BANNED

    maybe this will help? hope so.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Tman
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 36,057

    Tman
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    The only way to do it right is in Mock-up with all the final pieces.
     
  15. oldgrease
    Joined: Jan 14, 2014
    Posts: 14

    oldgrease
    Member
    from Alabama

    hey jeff,in all my model a builds i remove the stock firewall and build one from 20ga and set it back 7". also cut up high into the tank and box it so you can remove the distributer when needed later. i get my motor mounts from speedway set them at 11 1/2" behind the front crossmember and 1 1/4" below the frame top. i will send pics. hope this helps. mike ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1390753260.268654.jpg ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1390753330.305731.jpg ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1390753347.784043.jpg ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1390753359.985997.jpg ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1390753374.737443.jpg


    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  16. Cowtown Speed Shop
    Joined: Sep 26, 2010
    Posts: 1,185

    Cowtown Speed Shop
    Member
    from KC

    Jeff,
    As Tman said it is best to mock up everything, But From center of your radiator holes measure back about 14 inches to the front of your motor mount. (if using side mounts) Using a short water pump That will do you just fine. Also Do not recess your firewall anymore than You have to. 3 to 3 1/2 inches should be just fine. I can't Imagine why you would ever need to cut a firewall 7 inches for a SBC. 7 inches would leave you No toeboard at all.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2014
  17. F-6Garagerat
    Joined: Apr 12, 2008
    Posts: 2,652

    F-6Garagerat
    Member

    My recess is 3 1/2" and I made it so the bottom flange of the firewall, including the recess area, lines up with the top of the toe board supports on each side. The supports are in the stock position and are stock length. I didn't lose any toeboard. I have a pickup so not losing any floor was important.

    I didn't (wouldn't) use a zips adapter and my fan cools the 283 fine.
     
  18. go-twichy
    Joined: Jul 22, 2010
    Posts: 1,650

    go-twichy
    BANNED

    this is true, i had the body on and off a bunch of times too.
     
  19. jeff020571
    Joined: Nov 9, 2011
    Posts: 72

    jeff020571
    Member
    from france

    Wahoo!
    So many replies in a so short time!!!
    Thanks to everyone of you!!!
    Well, i want to built my A with fenders on a stock boxed frame...
    I was planing on positioning my engine from the radiator (stock one for now). My firewall is not recessed yet but i know how i will do the recess.
    I will try your measurement cowtown and see if this is ok for me, but i will also check with all the infos i got from your replies!
    More measurements and pictures are welcome, just to compare so my headaches will go away!
    The mounts will be side mounts (biscuits style) and i'll go on a vega steering boxe. Don't know if i'll have issues on positioning the box Under the side mount.

    Thanks again for your helps :)
     
  20. jeff020571
    Joined: Nov 9, 2011
    Posts: 72

    jeff020571
    Member
    from france

    Yes it does thanks!
    I suppose your fan is in front of the rad in the grill ?
     
  21. jeff020571
    Joined: Nov 9, 2011
    Posts: 72

    jeff020571
    Member
    from france

    Yes Pete and jakes tech tips are a great source of information!
     
  22. jeff020571
    Joined: Nov 9, 2011
    Posts: 72

    jeff020571
    Member
    from france

    Thanks for the link!
    Very nice built!
     
  23. jeff020571
    Joined: Nov 9, 2011
    Posts: 72

    jeff020571
    Member
    from france

    I will do that way!
    Except i'm planing on an electric fan.
     
  24. jeff020571
    Joined: Nov 9, 2011
    Posts: 72

    jeff020571
    Member
    from france

    Measurement and pic's are welcome, it will helps!
    Thank you
     
  25. go-twichy
    Joined: Jul 22, 2010
    Posts: 1,650

    go-twichy
    BANNED

    i dont have an electric fan, just the engine fan. so far,so good.i'll get that measurement for you.
     
  26. pitman
    Joined: May 14, 2006
    Posts: 5,151

    pitman

    I'd assume that you are running a stock A-style front crossmember?
    Then all you need do, is leave enough space between it and the crank pulley,
    to change a belt. Usually the frame will need a dimple or clearance for the stock GM fuel pump on the right rail.
     
  27. jeff020571
    Joined: Nov 9, 2011
    Posts: 72

    jeff020571
    Member
    from france

    You're right, i have the original A front cross member and have already cut it a little bit to leave space for the pulley.
     
  28. jeff020571
    Joined: Nov 9, 2011
    Posts: 72

    jeff020571
    Member
    from france

    keep looking for your measurement!
    Thanks go-twichy
     
  29. go-twichy
    Joined: Jul 22, 2010
    Posts: 1,650

    go-twichy
    BANNED

    ok sorry, but I forgot. you were right to remind me. the measurement from the center of the radiator mounting bolt, to the center of the motor mount bracket that's welded to the frame is 15-1/2"or fifteen and a half inches at the tube where the 7/16"x 4" bolt passes through. hope that helps. I also took some quick pics to maybe clear up where things might hit for you. ignore my firewall. I do. kurt.
     

    Attached Files:

  30. jeff020571
    Joined: Nov 9, 2011
    Posts: 72

    jeff020571
    Member
    from france

    No problem go-twichy!
    Thank you for all the infos and pic's. That help me for sure!!
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.