Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical rusty bolts

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 1946caddy, Aug 22, 2018.

1. 1946caddy

1946caddy
    from washington

I've been using kroil for 30 years and have been satisfied but I'm running out of the numerous cans I have stashed. Saw this and I think I will try the Auto trans fluid and acetone mix. I'll just have to use a spray bottle instead of the spray cans.

Penetrating Oil
    Machinist's Workshop Magazine recently did a test to determine which brand of penetrating oil worked best on rusty bolt / nut combinations. They scientifically rusted the threads on a group of nut/bolt combinations then measured the torque it took to remove the nuts after they had been soaked with various penetrants.

Here are the results….

No Penetrant 516 pounds
    WD-40 238 pounds
    PB Blaster 214 pounds
    Liquid Wrench 127 pounds
    Kano Kroil 106 pounds
    ATF / Acetone 53 pounds

The ATF / Acetone is a homemade machinist’s recipe that has been around for more than sixty years. It is made up of fifty percent Automatic Transmission Fluid and Acetone (acetone… you can buy at any local hardware store). The ATF/Acetone mix proved to be the most effective by far and costs the least amount per use. It was also interesting to note that the Liquid Wrench brand worked almost as good as the Kroil brand which costs about 20 percent more.

2. 29moonshine

29moonshine

you will never go back

Truck64 likes this.
  3. Truck64

Truck64
    from Ioway

Here's something similar. I've used Ed's Red Bore Cleaner for just about everything, cleaning old radio parts, tools, firearms of course, rust buster, anytime both a cleaner and preservative is needed, SAE connectors etc, the list is endless. It is based on a really old Frankford Arsenal gun cleaning recipe by Hatcher. Whale oil is gettin' tough to find so ATF is the sub.