Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Rpu project undergoing some changes.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Don's Hot Rods, Jul 11, 2015.

1. Don's Hot Rods

Don's Hot Rods
    from florida

My rpu project was built around a 394 Olds engine that I have been dragging around for over 30 years. I had it rebuilt about 9 years ago but the guy did a bad machine job on it and I simply am fed up with that motor. So, I sold it all off, the tripower intake, the Bendtsens transmission adapter, the cam, the finned aluminum valve covers.......all of it. That way there was no turning back.

So, I have decided to make a smart decision, and I ordered a brand new crate 350 Chevy motor from Jegs. While I was waiting for it to come I temporarily installed the 355 Chevy motor from my altered project to see how it would fit. The motor room was built around the Olds, so the little Chevy fit right in with room to spare.
    [​IMG]

The crate motor showed up in two days, and I am not going to touch anything inside it at all. I want this thing to be totally dependable, so I am not even going to open it up to put a hotter cam in it.

[​IMG]

I scored a set of original Vette valve covers on Ebay, and my two Sons bought me an Edelbrock 3 carb intake for my Birthday last week. Of course I had to plop those parts on to see how they look...............I like it ! :D

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I know sbc are done to death, but I have other projects I need to get cracking on (I just bought a second 46 Ford for parts for mine, and want to get going on that project asap) This crate motor will speed the process up tremendously, and I can get parts for it at any parts store. Sometimes you have to use your head instead of your heart. :)

Don

Last edited: Jul 12, 2015
  2. olscrounger

olscrounger
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Smart move--you are on the right track- a dependable ride

lothiandon1940 likes this.