Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Reed Prince

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Marcosmadness, Mar 23, 2020.

1. Marcosmadness

Marcosmadness
    from California

Because of the virus "stay at home" orders, I was out in the shop keeping busy. Sorting through my screwdriver drawer I came across the Reed Prince screwdriver. Now, like many/most of you, I have taps and dies and I know how to use them. I know the difference between pan head screws and round head, internal hex, slotted, Phillips head, etc. etc. etc. I have been an aircraft mechanic on C130s, been an electronic tech at Fairchild and National Semiconductor, had my own business making wiring harnesses for HP, Cisco, National, IGT and a number of other large companies. I have, like most of you, owned a lot of cars, both HAMB friendly and O.T cars. I have messed around with boats and built an airplane. So, in my 75 years on this earth and numerous jobs and hobbies using tools, I have never found a legitimate use for the Reed Prince screw driver. Craftsman tool sets always included one so I have several rattling around in the screwdriver drawer. So my question is, where is or was a Reed Prince head screw commonality used?

Stogy likes this.
  2. alanp561

alanp561
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Only thing I have found about them is that they will strip a Phillips head screw. Phillips screws have a 30 degree angle and beveled sides on the cross and R & P are 45 degree and straight sided. The R & P screw also has a deeper recess in the head than the Phillips. It's just another example of a better mousetrap. ;)

3. seb fontana

seb fontana
    from ct

4. Hnstray

Hnstray
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Quincy, IL

5. Lepus

Lepus