Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Rebel Wire Harness diagrams and wiring info

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by REBEL43, Aug 30, 2018.

  1. Dangerousdan
    Joined: Apr 12, 2018
    Posts: 48

    Dangerousdan
    Member
    from Arizona

    I will be doing a full harness soon and if I can find that it isn't as scary as I believe it can be this chat will help. DD
     
  2. brokedownbiker
    Joined: Jun 7, 2016
    Posts: 305

    brokedownbiker
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    It is a lot easier than you think; just go slow and pay attention to your routing. Get some good strippers and crimping tools and use quality connectors. You'll do fine.
     
  3. derbydad276
    Joined: May 29, 2011
    Posts: 1,152

    derbydad276
    Member

    My 53 has cloth covered wiring .... its 66 years old ...
    and needs to GO ... do you have any kits that feature antique style wiring look
     
  4. brokedownbiker
    Joined: Jun 7, 2016
    Posts: 305

    brokedownbiker
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I don't think that Rebel does cloth covered wiring harnesses, you might have to go with one of the restoration outfits. I'm sure Jeremy will speak up when he gets time.
     
    REBEL43 likes this.
  5. Blue One
    Joined: Feb 6, 2010
    Posts: 9,596

    Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

    REBEL43 likes this.
  6. derbydad276
    Joined: May 29, 2011
    Posts: 1,152

    derbydad276
    Member

    olscrounger likes this.
  7. brokedownbiker
    Joined: Jun 7, 2016
    Posts: 305

    brokedownbiker
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    It sure makes the $215 Rebel 9+3 harness look good doesn't it? (even less with Alliance discount)
     
    REBEL43 and Blue One like this.
  8. I don't know if this has been asked before because I got tired of reading this whole thread, but here goes;

    I read that you need a 3 ohm resistance to the points which is usually a 1.5 ohm resistor and a 1.5 ohm coil resistance. So if you use a 3 ohm coil, you do not need a resistor, so far, is this right?

    Next, if I use my 3 ohm coil, do I still need to run a wire from the positive side of the coil to the terminal on the solenoid that will give it a full 12 volts at startup? I think that with a 3 ohm coil, there would be no way to give it a full 12 volts, even at startup. So maybe I bought the wrong coil?
    This is for a 48 Ford flathead that I am rewiring and converted to 12 v neg ground.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2019
  9. louisb
    Joined: Oct 13, 2008
    Posts: 925

    louisb
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I ordered one of their T bucket kits for my roadster. Of all the things I have done on my car wiring scares me the most so I opted to take the easy way out. Great customer service and quick shipping.

    I do wish they offered a cloth covered kit.

    —louis
     
    REBEL43 and The37Kid like this.
  10. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 25,562

    The37Kid
    Member

    What does the pile of wire look like? Less than the pile in post #455 above? Bob
     
  11. louisb
    Joined: Oct 13, 2008
    Posts: 925

    louisb
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I has a good bit of wire but it is designed so you can mount it anywhere in the car. Dash, under the seat, ect.

    IMG_20190407_105257.jpg IMG_20190407_105227.jpg

    --louis
     
    REBEL43 and Shadow Creek like this.
  12. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 25,562

    The37Kid
    Member

    WOW! That is a T Bucket kit, how many lights do you need on a T Bucket???????? Bob
     
  13. flatout51
    Joined: Jul 26, 2006
    Posts: 835

    flatout51
    Member

    Rebel wire is the only company I'll ever buy from. Customer service is out of this world!!
     
    REBEL43 and brokedownbiker like this.
  14. topher5150
    Joined: Feb 10, 2017
    Posts: 1,457

    topher5150
    Member

    one of these days this thread is going to come in real handy
     
  15. REBEL43
    Joined: Feb 17, 2007
    Posts: 648

    REBEL43
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from TENNESSEE

    Hey guys, been covered up lately. We don't do anything with cloth covered wire, ran into that a few times. I usually recommend the same American Autowire kit shown here, but it does get expensive. There are some places where you can get just wire, but I don't know that there is a "cost effective" way to do it.
     
  16. REBEL43
    Joined: Feb 17, 2007
    Posts: 648

    REBEL43
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from TENNESSEE

    All that is just extra in case you need to tie up the muffler, haha. Just kidding, you're looking at lights (park, tail, dash, high and low beam), brake lights,coil, start, oil pressure, water temp, alternator exciter, tach, 4 turn wires, dash indicator wires, gauge power, horn, and a couple long power wires from the panel and flasher to let you mount the panel in a remote location. Yeah you can start a car off a hot to the coil and crossing out the solenoid, but I'd rather have it right.
     
    RICH B and dana barlow like this.
  17. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 25,562

    The37Kid
    Member

    If you made a wiring setup just to run the engine I'd buy that, no desire to wire the whole car and see it burn. Bob
     
  18. REBEL43
    Joined: Feb 17, 2007
    Posts: 648

    REBEL43
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from TENNESSEE

    What wires do you need, Coil and Start? to run from the ignition switch to the coil and ignition switch to the solenoid? Honestly, if you're worried about burning it down by wiring it, I'd take it to someone, and still be careful who you take it to. If I can help you with anything, in all sincerity, let me know
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2019
  19. Blue One
    Joined: Feb 6, 2010
    Posts: 9,596

    Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

    I'm installing my Rebel 9&3 kit now, Jeremy was great helping me sort things out, and making a few modifications to my kit and tailoring it to my components.

    That along with some extra labeling he did to my wire bundles have really helped make this a good experience.

    One thing I wish I had sorted out was the length of the wires going to the various switches on the dash.

    The kit was designed for the fuse panel to be mounted on the drivers side and as such the wire bundles coming off the panel are long enough.

    Now for the however.
    I decided that since my RPU is so small and cramped, mounting the panel on the passenger side would make it much more accessible.

    That worked great and required me to re-bundle those wires to get them moved in the harness back to the drivers side.

    As a result, the wires are shorter than they should be to get to some of my switches etc.

    I'm not really sure what to do about it at this time as I don't have any extra wire in the right sizes and colors :confused:

    I'll have to figure something out.

    AA61718C-8587-4773-9293-092B80797923.jpeg
    AE7312A2-E855-4BD7-840E-2309C89842BD.jpeg
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2019
    jakespeed63 likes this.
  20. topher5150
    Joined: Feb 10, 2017
    Posts: 1,457

    topher5150
    Member

    it's so.....perfect
     
    Blue One likes this.
  21. REBEL43
    Joined: Feb 17, 2007
    Posts: 648

    REBEL43
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from TENNESSEE

    If you don't mind splicing them, just let me know how long and which wires you need. I'll price it out and see what size box I can get it into. The wire isn't much, shipping would be most of it. Anything I can do to help you get it going, just let me know
     
  22. Blue One
    Joined: Feb 6, 2010
    Posts: 9,596

    Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

    Thanks, I’ll scope it out and make a list and send you a message.
    Splicing is not a big deal if you do it properly, I would have preferred not but this was unforeseen initially.
    I usually do a crimp splice with a uninsulated connector and then glue lined heat shrink it.

    The wires end up not much larger than the regular insulation size.

    Thanks again Jeremy I’ll get back to you.
    Appreciate it.
    Larry
     
  23. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 25,562

    The37Kid
    Member

    [​IMG]Do you have any idea how many wires come through the hole with the grommet ? Stuff like that would be nice to know before you paint the car, doubling the wire size for safety will require a larger hole, but just how much larger. Prewiring planning can save a lot ruined body work. Bob
     
  24. REBEL43
    Joined: Feb 17, 2007
    Posts: 648

    REBEL43
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from TENNESSEE

    No problem Larry. I'd do the same thing and wouldn't forsee any issues, but sometimes you mention splice and people get offended I like to stagger my splices also, so they don't all bunch up in the same place. Just let me know what you need and we'll get you going again. Nice wiring job by the way
     
    Blue One likes this.
  25. Blue One
    Joined: Feb 6, 2010
    Posts: 9,596

    Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

    There are 21 wires I believe. The hole is for an 1 14" grommet as supplied in the rebel kit.
    I drilled the hole through the paint and then repainted with touch up as I have with the other holes to mount the wiring.
    A paint pen works great for repainting drilled holes.
    For me it's almost impossible to plan for every little thing before paint.
    Especially since I didn't put the car together completely the pull it apart for finishing.
     
  26. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 25,562

    The37Kid
    Member

    Thanks, looks like the tail light have 21 wires as well, amazing how complicated things are. Bob
     
  27. Blue One
    Joined: Feb 6, 2010
    Posts: 9,596

    Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

    :D That’s all the engine wires and front and rear lighting, fuel gauge, basically everything.
     
  28. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 25,562

    The37Kid
    Member

    All that wire and I count 9 fuses correct?

    Bob
     
  29. Blue One
    Joined: Feb 6, 2010
    Posts: 9,596

    Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

    Turns out that there are only 3 wires that are definitely too short now.
    Another 1 1/2’ of each will do the trick.
    You could probably roll them up and send them to me in a bubble mailer envelope.
    I’ll send you a message.
    Thanks,Larry
     
  30. Blue One
    Joined: Feb 6, 2010
    Posts: 9,596

    Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

    Finished routing the wires back to my tail lights.
    Hooked up my fuel sending unit too.
    Loomed, mounted and working as they should.
    I used weatherpack connectors for the rear lighting.
    I have found that Rebel makes a really nice kit and Jeremy was really helpful in tailoring the kit to my components. :cool:
    4AB724A9-1C4E-4997-B766-3C022598CFD6.jpeg 4F62C1AD-0A91-4BAE-A97C-2F6B52D18347.jpeg EE3466C5-D80D-4B42-8EAC-6362504F6CBD.jpeg C894D22D-9B34-474C-984B-D6CA1561E848.jpeg 022DAB21-6270-4616-A438-D180FE53E9E7.jpeg 8CC66438-D492-4950-BC08-A7E926694529.jpeg
     
    REBEL43, The37Kid and Shadow Creek like this.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.