Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Radiator cap size/pressure UPDATE: RESOLVED

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Chappy444, May 31, 2019.

1. 19Fordy

19Fordy

16 pounds is a lot of pressure both for the radiator and the hoses. You don't want
    to burst the seams on your top tank or core. What does Griffin say?

2. There was no recommendations on the website that I could find. I am thinking 4 lb or 6lb
    Chappy

3. I'm not an expert but this is what the various specs mean to me. The 16# rating is the point at which the coolant will begin to boil and trigger the cap to release, not the pressure at which the system will operate all things being in good working condition. With a 180 degree thermostat, you shouldn't normally be seeing that high of pressure unless there are other issues in the cooling system. As always, I am subject to correction by the real experts here.

Last edited: May 31, 2019

4. Jalopy Joker

Jalopy Joker

16lb is on the high side, even with a griffin - I always ran a 7lb cap

trollst likes this.
  5. Blues4U

Blues4U
    from So Cal

You're partly correct, it is not the point at which the coolant will boil, it is the point at which the cap will relieve pressure and allow coolant into the catch can/overflow tank.

6. woodiewagon46

woodiewagon46
    from New York

We all know water boils at 212 degrees. If you raise the pressure, it raises the boiling point. At 16 lbs. PSI, the cap will vent to the recovery tank. I think for an aluminum radiator 16 psi in high. I'm very surprised Griffen Radiator does not have a recommendation on what pound cap to use.

7. Blues4U

Blues4U
    from So Cal

The boiling point of coolant depends on the ratio of antifreeze to water, and the pressure.

Here is a chart showing varying boiling points of water/antifreeze mix & pressures:
    [​IMG]
    A 50/50 mixture at 16 PSI will boil at 273*F

8. squirrel

squirrel

might give Griffen a call.