Register now to get rid of these ads!

Quick question

Discussion in 'Questions & Suggestions' started by Merlin, May 16, 2014.

  1. Merlin
    Joined: Apr 9, 2005
    Posts: 2,546

    Merlin
    Member
    from Inman, SC

    Why is it when I click on a thread it always takes me to the first unread post somewhere down the thread instead of to the first post. Is there a setting I'm missing?
     
  2. Same thing here Harry,maybe a glitch or maybe it's suppose to work that way.
    If you look right under your avatar it says...
    Go to First Unread

    So there may be something in our tools that can change that setting.HRP
     
  3. Ryan
    Joined: Jan 2, 1995
    Posts: 19,516

    Ryan
    ADMINISTRATOR
    from Austin, TX
    Staff Member

    As it stands right now, if you click on a thread title you are taken to the first unread post in that thread.
     
  4. Merlin
    Joined: Apr 9, 2005
    Posts: 2,546

    Merlin
    Member
    from Inman, SC

    Even if I've never opened the thread before?
     

  5. It is whatever the newest post you haven't seen. So if you have never opened the thread it goes to post number 1 of that thread.
     
  6. Merlin
    Joined: Apr 9, 2005
    Posts: 2,546

    Merlin
    Member
    from Inman, SC

    It wasn't doing that yesterday, I went to several threads I hadn't been in and it took me to the last page instead of the first.
     
  7. Merlin
    Joined: Apr 9, 2005
    Posts: 2,546

    Merlin
    Member
    from Inman, SC

    Still doing it. [​IMG]
     
  8. tnich123
    Joined: May 26, 2009
    Posts: 160

    tnich123
    Member

    Does the same for me.
     
  9. Merlin
    Joined: Apr 9, 2005
    Posts: 2,546

    Merlin
    Member
    from Inman, SC

    Is there any way to change it? It gets a little frustrating having to always go back to the original post to read the question or story.
     
  10. Have you tried a different browser? It seems a lot of the issues people are having are old versions of browsers. New versions of Chrome and IE both seem to work for me on three different computers and take me to the first post I haven't read which on a thread I have never opened is post number 1.
     
  11. Merlin
    Joined: Apr 9, 2005
    Posts: 2,546

    Merlin
    Member
    from Inman, SC

    I use Firefox but have switched over to IE and it does it on both, I don't have chrome.
     
  12. Weird there are definitely still some glitches. The roll over feature that shows the first post when you hover over a thread isn't working for me but a bunch of guys say it is. I don't envy Ryan trying to sort these all out.
     
  13. Ryan
    Joined: Jan 2, 1995
    Posts: 19,516

    Ryan
    ADMINISTRATOR
    from Austin, TX
    Staff Member

    They are all working at the present time... What browser are you using? Do you have java turned on??
     
  14. Chrome and yes just checked to make sure it was working and set the security to it's lowest level still no workie.
     
  15. Ryan
    Joined: Jan 2, 1995
    Posts: 19,516

    Ryan
    ADMINISTRATOR
    from Austin, TX
    Staff Member

    Weird... I'm using latest Chrome with security set to medium and java on... All good here.
     
  16. I can't scroll over the icons on the ribbons at the top of the page either have to click on them to open the drop down menu.
     
  17. Merlin
    Joined: Apr 9, 2005
    Posts: 2,546

    Merlin
    Member
    from Inman, SC

    Firefox and java is turned on.
     
  18. Ryan
    Joined: Jan 2, 1995
    Posts: 19,516

    Ryan
    ADMINISTRATOR
    from Austin, TX
    Staff Member

    I'm thinking you have some browser issues... I can't reproduce this at all in Chrome. It works as it should going back three versions.
     
  19. Not sure short of uninstalling it and reloading Chrome not sure what more to do? I have tried updating Chrome, clearing all my cache and history, I logged out and logged back in but nothing seems to work.
     
  20. Ryan
    Joined: Jan 2, 1995
    Posts: 19,516

    Ryan
    ADMINISTRATOR
    from Austin, TX
    Staff Member

    Just so you don't think I'm pulling your leg:

    chrome.jpg
     
  21. LOL I believe you.:rolleyes::D. Would it make any difference that I am running it in Windows 8?
     
  22. Ryan
    Joined: Jan 2, 1995
    Posts: 19,516

    Ryan
    ADMINISTRATOR
    from Austin, TX
    Staff Member

    I guess it could, but most everything I read says it shouldn't.
     
  23. It works on my laptop in Chrome when running Windows 7.
     
  24. 03GMCSonoma
    Joined: Jan 15, 2011
    Posts: 245

    03GMCSonoma
    Member

    Ryan, would you please delete my thread "Model A Coupe Floor Board Vendor"? I received good responses and don't need any more information on the topic. Thanks. Bob
     
  25. Merlin
    Joined: Apr 9, 2005
    Posts: 2,546

    Merlin
    Member
    from Inman, SC

    So what about my question? Suggestions?
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.