Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Primer for wood before painting it???

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by ziffer, Dec 14, 2018.

1. ziffer

ziffer
    from michigan

I've got a buddy building a speedster and he wants to paint a bunch of wood framing in it the same color as the body. He asked me what to prime the wood with. He is using a catalyzed epoxy. Anybody have a suggestion as to what to use for primer on the WOOD?

Thanks
    Z

2. Rocky72

Rocky72
    from Pa.

I would say you need an epoxy primer but your best bet would be to talk to someone at Sherwin Williams they will steer you in the right direction .

3. rusty rocket

rusty rocket

I'm a trim carpenter by trade if he is using epoxy I wouldn't see any reason to prime the wood. Our cars are in garages the majority of the time anyway.

4. Rocky72

Rocky72
    from Pa.

The only reason for the primer is to stop the paint from being absorbed into the wood .

DaPeach and Fordor Ron like this.

5. I've done a few restorations on old chevys and put in new wood kits. We never primered the wood and just painted with black lacquer and haven't had any issues. Of course we weren't trying to color match the body, and epoxy may act different.

6. catdad49

catdad49

They make a product called sanding sealer. I personally have never used it, but others swear by it. As suggested above ask the people where you are getting the paint. Another place to check out would be where they sell unfinished furniture. I have used enamel paint on some wooden pieces and have never used primer with good results.

Last edited: Dec 15, 2018
  7. I use epoxy primer, and treat it just like the steel.

indyjps and ct1932ford like this.
  8. Primer is formulated to adhere to the wood, steel or grp, depending on what you are painting. Paint is formulated to adhere to the primer. You wouldn't skip the primer painting a car.

9. philly the greek

philly the greek
    from so . cal.