Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Post war 31 A coupe traditional build?????

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by The Engineer, Jul 13, 2011.

1. The Engineer

The Engineer

Hi all,
    Im relatively new to the traditional hot rod build scene and need some old school wisdom on how to do a few things on my build and what better place to find it but on here!!
    I have been collecting parts for a couple of years now and know how I want my 31 A coupe to look and sit, basically I have

1, 31 coupe body
    2, Original complete untouched 32 chassis in good condition
    3, 39 ford rear axle complete with torque tube
    4, 39 ford front axle complete and also 37 ford truck front beam with wishbone
    5, 39 ford engine and trans
    6, 35 wire wheels
    7, full set of buick drums
    8, 32 grill shell
    9, 7.50x16 rear tires and 5.50x16 front tires whitewalls
    10, 46 ford dashboard

[​IMG]

The above picture is the correct stance and roof chop that I want on my coupe so I need to know what xmember to use in the rear to get that stance with my 39 ford axle, I cant really use the 32 on as its got a curve in it for the 32 curved spring?? also what front xmember to use, prob model A but is this my only option, It may mean I have to fabricate both xmembers from scratch to get the ride hieght I want but im sure the right original one are out there somewhere??
    also need some ideas on shortening the torque tube??
    and do I have to split the wishbones fron and back to run the flathead v8??
    I have so many questions I cant remember them now, I will add them as I think of them.
    looking forward to your replys??

Jeremy

2. Your link is a dead link. Maybe you can go over there and get a clean link.

3. The Engineer

The Engineer

I fixed the pic now!!

4. Ta dah !!! Now the fellas have something to work with.