Register now to get rid of these ads!

OT: Yamammeyhaw SR500 as Chopper donor

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by banzaitoyota, Sep 21, 2005.

1. banzaitoyota

banzaitoyota

2. Bigcheese327

Bigcheese327

www.jockeyjournal.com/forum

The HAMB for bobbers and choppers.

A pic of the stock bike would be good too, that way we know what we're dealing with. That being said, just about anything makes a good start for a chopper, just some better than others.

3. I'm not an expert, but I think those SR500's have some collector value and you might be better off to sell it to someone that wants one and then buy a different bike to start out with.

BTW, a SR500 is a 500 cc four stroke single. I always thought they were kinda neat to make a bobber or cafe style out of.

4. BigJim394

BigJim394

They continue to slowly but surely go up in value. They were still be made in Japan a year or two ago and may well still be in production.

If you do a web search there are all sorts of SR500 websites, and it is still a VERY popular MC in Asia and Europe with lots of clubs. If you look at the websites you will see a lot of modified SRs, most all Cafe Racer Style, Retro British Single (think BSA Gold Star) style, and Dirt Track style. You'd have a hard time finding many chopper style modified SR's and there is a reason for that.

5. 55olds88

55olds88

agreed,
    They make a cool Cafe racer style bike.

6. Ratty

Ratty

If you're gonna do it , build the frame heavy . I owned a standard one and it vibrated like a bastard , if you use a light frame it'll rattle itself to peices .

IMHO the bike was a gutless , thirsty , unreliable (they eat cams) piece of shit , there's loads of better bikes out there to chop .

7. zman

zman
    from Garner, NC