Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Of course I got a run in it.......now what??

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by statesblue, Jul 10, 2017.

1. statesblue

statesblue
    from Luzerne Pa

So today was the day I decided to paint the roadster body. I've been at this project a little over two years and finally paint.
    Everything was fine until the last coat....damn!!
    I'm using Limco single stage because I'm just not a fan of the plastic look of base coat clear coat on an old hot rod.
    I'm a self taught painter and Id like to think I do a pretty fair job but its been about fifteen years since my last paint job. Back then I was using Centari Acrylic Enamel with really good results. Even sanding and buffing it was no problem.
    Now I'm wanting to know, can I treat this paint the same way figuring I will wait a couple weeks to let the runs dry well and run my nibbler over the runs to get it smoothed then block sand it and buff. Will this work?? Or is there something else Id have to do?? I'd hate to have to repaint the quarter because I'm not sure where Id break it and I'm told spotting it in would be a chore to get good results.
    Any pros on here who can give an old guy some direction? Basically, how do I do it??

2. squirrel

squirrel

The picture didn't come through.

(if it's one that only you will see, you can leave it alone. If it's a big one....someone will have experience with something similar. I have no idea, myself)

3. 49ratfink

49ratfink
    from California

4. BJR

BJR

Did you put catalyst in the paint? If so yes wait a few days and sand and buff. If it was metallic paint you can get it smooth, but the run will still show in the metallic.

5. theHIGHLANDER

theHIGHLANDER
    ALLIANCE MEMBER