Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical New to y blocks

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Y 63 josh, Jun 22, 2017.

1. Y 63 josh

Y 63 josh

IMG_1495.JPG So I am new to y blocks and I have a 63 f100 292. I just installed a new intake from Mumford and got a 4 barrel 500 cfm edlebrock. Out of first gear it is a beast but when I reach cruising speed and want to put my foot in it it bogs down bad. I am not a carb guy and I will never claim to be and so I am asking for a little help. What I can figure is that I need to go smaller on my secondary jets. Anyone else have an opinion on this. This is my first classic truck and I need help lol

Truck64 and chryslerfan55 like this.
  2. FrozenMerc

FrozenMerc

Do you have access to an Air/Fuel Rate meter? That would help diagnose the problem by telling you if it is going lean or rich. The carb may be fine and you may have a timing issue or other electrical problem. Given the limited information you provided, it could be any number of things and we would just be guessing. Any other info you provide would be helpful. Stuff like transmission type, ignition type, and more about the nature of the bog. Stuff like does it happen at a specific RPM, does it backfire or just fall on its face?

Good Luck

fms427 and Y 63 josh like this.
  3. Y 63 josh

Y 63 josh