Register now to get rid of these ads!

Need Trans swap help. WTF is wrong

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 2xcrash, Aug 10, 2005.

1. 2xcrash

2xcrash

I'm swaping a 700r4 with a turbo 350. It's bolting up to a 305 SBC.....
    It's taking me about 6 hours (over 3 days) just to bolt it up to the motor. once I got the bolts started I went to line up and start bolting the flex plate to the torque converter . Now I can't spin the torque converter or the flex plate to get the bolts to line up......

What am I doing wrong, I'm using the t350's torque converter.
    Did I need to change the flex plate?
    I've been told to bolt to the bell housing before bolting the torque converter ...

I'm doing this by myself, and this is my first time pulling a trans.....

Please help, I'm about to push it to the curb and sell it for scrape :mad:

Thanks

2. willys_truck

willys_truck

You did spline up the converter into the tranny, right????

3. jerry

jerry

Sounds like you would need the 700R4 converter. I don't know if the 350 converter is compatible, I think they have different splines at the pump and input shaft. The flex plate will be the same.

jerry

4. Am i reading this correct, in that the NEW trans is the TH350? If so, the torque converter's not all the way in the trans. It has "THREE" seperate steps. Then you put a straight edge across the bellhousing and make sure you have a FULL inch to the pads where the 3 converter bolts go. If you tightened the bellhousing bolts, you've probably fucked up the front pump (broke the gears in it). Maybe even broke the case/bellhousing. I know this AIN'T what you want to hear but................

5. PS-if you push it to the curb, where's this curb?

6. 2xcrash

2xcrash