Register now to get rid of these ads!

need opinion on possible headgasket problem

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hotrodgypsy, Oct 18, 2012.

1. hotrodgypsy

hotrodgypsy
    from reading,pa

got a 1970 307 in my hotrod....supposedly 23,000 miles...the motor is clean inside..the delivery has been sitting in my garage up on jack stands for 6 years due to my health..this summer i finially got it runnin'..ive always had some moisture from the exhaust....no white smoke....recently when i get back from a cruise,i heard a couple a thumps..this happened several times..when id get out ,it already stopped..the temp is always below 180 ..i recently installed a champion 3 row core radiator,16lb cap,new hoses and a 180 t-stat..i replaced the water pump a couple a years ago..there is no milky oil,no overheating..i also installed a pusher electric fan,to work with the motor fan..im a retired ase mechanic and think its a headgasket..i installed a stant radiator pressure tester and after runnin' a bit ,the needle was pegged...not what i wanted to see..what do you guy's and gals think//:(:(:(

2. Get a rad shop to test the rad water for exhaust gasses.

3. hotrodgypsy

hotrodgypsy
    from reading,pa

yea i would of done that,but dont have the kit..the only time ive seen pressure build like that wash either a head gasket or crack (god forbid)...

4. 1.Pull all the sparks plugs

2.Pressurize cooling system with a cooling system pressure tester & let it sit for awhile.

3.Spin the motor with a remote button & watch for coolant from any of the cylinders

(might have to do this when it's been warmed up)

Good luck

5. Don's Hot Rods

Don's Hot Rods
    from florida

Is your coolant level going down any ?

Don

6. hotrodgypsy

hotrodgypsy
    from reading,pa