Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs Need Help , First chop on my 50 Ford & a Surprise !

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Retro Jim, Dec 7, 2010.

1. Retro Jim

Retro Jim

Please read the entire post and you will understand why I am stuck between to very different chops but one is more of a kustom with a chop . Please keep in mind I have NEVER done a chop ! So how hard will this be to do ?

OK I have a few ideas on chopping my 50 Ford tudor . I have never done a chop before and need some help before I try to tackle this job . I also have another very different chop that I want some very honest opinions on with the good , the bad and the ugly of this project ! Is this going to be way to hard for a first timer ?
    Now PLEASE be very honest with all the following questions and ideas !

I would like to chop mine about 3-4" . My question is how do you get the correct slope on the rear window to look right ? I am looking for the easiest way to do it . I have never done one so what all is involved ? Do all the pillar and post cuts need to be in the same line or does it matter . How bad does this mess up the front windshield ? If I chop it I will have to buy a new windshield , right . Side windows are flat glass and well that should be easy . Now if the rear window is cut out with extra sheet metal then just lay it in there on a slat and fill the holes in with sheet metal ? I don't have an English wheel to make sides . So will that be a problem ?