Register now to get rid of these ads!

Need a special toggle switch--

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hot rod wille, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. hot rod wille
    Joined: Oct 27, 2005
    Posts: 695

    hot rod wille
    Member

    Looking for a toggle switch to use as a turn signal switch--T-Bucket Alliance website says a C&K Components p/n 7411TPZQE or 7411T2PZQE--it's a on-on-on three position switch--12 connections on the back.C&K says 10weeks! to get it! Somebody has to make something like it--anybody know anything???
     

    Attached Files:

  2. try maybe cole hersee or standard marine.
     
  3. Terry O
    Joined: Oct 12, 2004
    Posts: 1,060

    Terry O
    Member

    American Auto Wire great switch - lousy website.

    Terry
     
  4. Bettlejuice
    Joined: Apr 27, 2009
    Posts: 481

    Bettlejuice
    Member
    from WV

    Mcmaster Carr... If they don't have it, it don't exist. Really, I think they have so much shit they quit making paper catalogs.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2009

  5. 55driver
    Joined: Dec 7, 2008
    Posts: 130

    55driver
    Member

    Here's a bunch of Cole Hersee, nothing I see with 12 terminals though.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. shortbed65
    Joined: Feb 20, 2009
    Posts: 204

    shortbed65
    Member
    from ne Ill

    He's right , link to this http://www.mcmaster.com/#8002k38/=2zagxq
    12 terminal , but none are momentary style if that's what you wanted
     
  7. Revhead
    Joined: Mar 19, 2001
    Posts: 3,027

    Revhead
    Member
    from Dallas, TX

  8. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 50,228

    squirrel
    Member

    wow, 17 bucks for a toggle switch! and it doesn't even have a cancelling mechanism

    (you beat me to it, I was gonna suggest Allied, Digikey or Mouser)
     
  9. Squirrel you are so correct. But why auto cancelling?? It is a hotrod--- They do sell momentary switches as well. So hold the lever.

    Just buy one from any hardware store and figure out the arm length. I'm using the same theory for reversible AC motors. (AC vs DC) same electricity switching.
     
  10. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 50,228

    squirrel
    Member

    It's a hot rod, stick your arm out the side of the car! sheesh :)
     
  11. TOUCH'E

    cannot find the proper "french puncturation" sign LOL

    good one
     
  12. Mr48chev
    Joined: Dec 28, 2007
    Posts: 30,185

    Mr48chev
    Member

    I've just got two toggle switches on a small panel under the dash. One for left and one for right. The feed of a common flasher. Each has a small indicator light in the dash.

    I cheated though as I have two bulbs behind the same tail light. One has the stop light and one has the turn light.

    And yes it is a pain in the butt to remember to turn the things off.
    <input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">
     
  13. 29 bones
    Joined: Sep 26, 2006
    Posts: 1,126

    29 bones
    Member
    from so cal

  14. vertible59
    Joined: Jan 25, 2009
    Posts: 1,058

    vertible59
    Member

    Not if you use a 3 terminal flasher with the 3rd post wired to a golf cart back up beeper. It WILL remind you. LOL:D
     
  15. CoolHand
    Joined: Aug 31, 2007
    Posts: 1,928

    CoolHand
    Alliance Vendor

    If it can't be found at:

    McMaster Carr
    MSC Industrial Supply
    ENCO
    Digi-Key
    Mouser

    It simply doesn't exist.

    I'd check with Mouser if you have not already. They're usually a little cheaper than Digi-Key, and they seem to stock a lot more oddball stuff.
     
  16. Dirty2
    Joined: Jun 13, 2004
    Posts: 8,903

    Dirty2
    Member

  17. d2_willys
    Joined: Sep 8, 2007
    Posts: 4,188

    d2_willys
    Member
    from Kansas

    PM me, I might have what you are looking for, that might be really cool for your ride!
     
  18. dickster27
    Joined: Feb 28, 2004
    Posts: 3,200

    dickster27
    Member
    from Texas

    Haywire has this switch in a kit with diagram and everything to hook up signals. I know they work as I have wired up a bunch of them.
     
  19. jjsound
    Joined: May 27, 2008
    Posts: 407

    jjsound
    Member

    why not use one of these? i believe every truck stop in the nation has them too...
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Use a pair of DTTP (Double Throw Triple Pole) toggle switches mounted horizontally.

    Both in = stoplights
    Both out = hazard flashers
    Either one out = turn signal for that side

    Source it to battery -with fuse of course - and not to ignition.
    Otherwise you'lll have to leave the ignition on if you want to leave the car with flashers on.

    No diodes needed.

    Use fairly bright indicator lamps.
    Once you get in the habit of manually cancelling you won't leave them on.

    You can barely see the turn signal/horn button panel over the steering wheel arm and under the dash here.
    [​IMG]

    Make sure your panel is easy to reach.

    Better pic.
    [​IMG]

    Horn button is a two terminal 48 Ford type starter buttone - from NAPA.
     
  21. propwash
    Joined: Jul 25, 2005
    Posts: 3,858

    propwash
    Member
    from Las Vegas

    mid 50s brit cars used a 3way toggle for turn signals. It was mounted in the dash (Fascia) and was not self-canceling. Hit a wrecking yard or a AH/MG/Jag collectors' forum

    dj
     
  22. onenew32
    Joined: Mar 11, 2008
    Posts: 126

    onenew32
    Member

    Bought two of these from Allied electronics a few years back for dune buggies (Microswitch brand). SUPER expensive. some of the street rod places have good stuff. Ron Francis stuff is pretty good most of the time
     
  23. Boyd Who
    Joined: Nov 9, 2001
    Posts: 2,196

    Boyd Who
    Member

    My t-bucket had one of those mounted under the seat, with just the arm poking through. It was on the left side right by the door panel. Just reach down and flick it on an off. Worked great and was hidden from view.
     
  24. eisenhower34
    Joined: Aug 30, 2006
    Posts: 82

    eisenhower34
    Member

    Let me check my personal inventory. I use to work for Honeywell and we made switches just like that. If I have one I will send you a few...PM me.
    Ike
     
  25. lostforawhile
    Joined: Mar 23, 2008
    Posts: 4,160

    lostforawhile
    Member

    they did? i still have mine,most part numbers are still good. I think we get one every year at work, they make a cd rom with the catalog for your computer too. can cause back strain picking up the paper catalog without proper lifting technique.
     
  26. Works good though.

    Maybe I just should have said, "flip toggle for desired turn signal operation."


    It's pretty intuitive....
     
  27. Oh yeah . . . press button for horn....:D
     
  28. 1950ChevySuburban
    Joined: Dec 20, 2006
    Posts: 6,188

    1950ChevySuburban
    Member Emeritus
    from Tucson AZ

    I've got a circuit I've drawn up uses a single DPDT switch, center off, a few diodes and no relays. I have it at the new house, still packed with all my stuff from the move. PM me and I'll copy and post it on here.
     
  29. www.waytekwire.com p/n 44272. $10

    Split feed from flasher to both center poles. Wire front and rear signals separately to each side of switch. Then "Y" the feed from the brake switch to the rear poles with a diode in each leg after the "Y".
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.