Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Model A suspension questions....

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by sodakmini, Mar 22, 2015.

1. sodakmini

sodakmini

My first hot rod build. 27' Tudor on a A frame. Want to run stock straight frame rails, no kick up. Running stock axle with 2" drop reverse eye spring behind the axle, with a 2" drop crossmember up front. I'm trying to figure out what to do outback. Ford 9". T spring? A spring??? Would like a classy rake..behind or in front of axle? Running tall skinnys in back and little skinnys up front. Kinda vague but I'm a bit confused. Thanks in advance guys. Go ahead and poke some fun, I'm still learning.

2. lorodz

lorodz

go with a small z'd frame out back get a reverse eye rear model A spring and perch kit .from posies you wont be disapointed just re di my suspension with these parts ride like a dream .before with stock A spring oiut back it was rigid...good luck

3. 100% Matt

100% Matt

How about. T-Spring built to A-Spring width? Search the classifieds for "hot rod spring"

4. sodakmini

sodakmini

If I ran that hot rod spring or a T medium arch spring with a spacer could I get by without z'ing frame?

5. sodakmini

sodakmini

I've got a few kids would like as much room in cab as possible for a back seat. My reasoning for not z'ing.

dana barlow likes this.
  6. lorodz

lorodz

I just z'd my car 2" and put a 3" reverse eye spring .in mine I have a rumble seat and their is still plenty of room

7. sodakmini

sodakmini

Lorodz any pics?

8. And still room for the rumble seat?

9. 117harv

117harv

We all like different looks, i'm a big fan of straight frame rails. A T spring will lower the rear about 2 inch, more depending on sag or leaves removed. As far as the rear end, an 8" is fine and typically narrower than most nines. You didn't mention if you are running sans fenders?

10. sodakmini

sodakmini