Register now to get rid of these ads!

Looking for any info on "Big Bill" Edwards

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Deezer5150, Apr 3, 2011.

1. Deezer5150

Deezer5150
    from Socal

Hey Guys and Gals,
    I'm new to the H.A.M.B. and I am in search for any info you folks may have about "Big Bill" Edwards. A good friend of mine bought a 1953 Ford F-100 in milk crates about 18 years ago. As he started going through all the parts he started to notice some quirky things like the front bed corners being radiused (for exhaust stacks) and a factory speedometer that went to 140 m.p.h. The windshield had the remains of Bonneville Participant stickers on it and the rear roll pan had these horrid Pontiac tail lights in it. The biggest find was a brass Bonneville plaque on the glovebox door stating that it had run Bonneville at 151 m.p.h. After some research we discovered that it had belonged to Bill Edwards. He has the September 1955 issue of Hot Rod that features the truck but we can't seem to find anything else about him. We are trying to find out anything about him, the truck and any of his other projects. Any stories or information any of you may have would be greatly appreciated. I have attached some pictures from the 1955 magazine and some of the parts now. The truck has not been finished due to a workplace injury some years ago and lack of funds. He hopes to get started again on it in the next year but only time will tell.
    Thanks, Darin

Attached Files:

2. mtkawboy

mtkawboy

I think I read that he was the mayor of Wells or Elko Nevada. I used to have that magazine at one time, maybe I still do. I know the truck was really fast in its day

3. Deezer5150

Deezer5150
    from Socal

I'll try a search based on that. Thanks

4. bangngears

bangngears
    from ofallon mo