Register now to get rid of these ads!

looking for any early hotrod literature

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by deuceroger, Oct 24, 2006.

1. I attend the university of texas at san antonio,im majoring in history.So im taking my final classes to graduate,im taking my history siminar which is basicaly a 25-30 page paper. My professor let us run free with our topic,and told us to pick something that is your passion. So I declared my topic as "The History of Hotrodding and the Kustom Car Kulture." I need to see if any of you guys have any good sites or books that would help me with my paper. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. The37Kid

The37Kid

When did Hot Rodding start? Was it Dirt Track Racing or Dry Lakes? Has anyone set the year it started?:rolleyes:

3. old beet

old beet

Anything by Albert Drake, he wrote a bunch about the 50s.......OLDBEET

4. Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
    Member Emeritus

Specifically, get hold of Albert Drake's book "Fifties Flashback". Immediately rip off and discard the cover--this is a ghastly 1980's Streetrod pseudo nostalgia poodle skirt--drive-in--'57 Chevies with food tray pic that clashes with any decent sensibility.
    Book is EXCELLENT circa 1952 time trip, and specifically within you want the chapters "What we read" and "Magazines".
    His coverage of magazine history, specific good issues, and the great Trend-Fawcett--dimestore publisher books on early rodding is wonderful. I found it to be very useful in filling in my collection, as I started buying this stuff 10 years later and had nearly no money anyhow back then. I hunted down most of his list, and everything he said was great was indeed so.

5. old beet

old beet

Didn't he also write "Where were you in 52?" or was that 62?.....OLDBEET

6. SUHRsc

SUHRsc

what year was the 2nd car built? :D

as for the history...
    look into www.ahrf.com for lots of information