Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods learning about the 352 FE + transmissions

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Stand-Al0ne, Feb 25, 2016.

1. Stand-Al0ne

Stand-Al0ne

Hey Everyone,
    I'm new to the H.A.M.B and I have a 1966 Ford F100.

I'm new to the older model truck scene (I've been into late models 2004 SRT-4, 2005 GTO, 2010 v6 Camaro...), but I am looking to dive into it with the help of some friends!

My F100 has the 352FE motor and it's got a 3 speed on the tree.

I have a little extra money and I'm planning to get the motor rebuilt by a shop (nothing crazy, but just something simple good for 300-350hp...) and I'd love to switch out transmissions. My three speed has limited life left in it, and even though 300hp wont be much, I know it'll be more than that tranny can handle. Also I want to switch to a floor shifter.
    Would anyone lend some advice on what 4 or 5 speed (floor mounted) tranny will bolt up to the 352 FE? My budget is limited, so hopefully something in the $400-500 range is attainable.

I'm not an old hot rodder by any means, so this is all new for me. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
    David (stand-al0ne)

2. FrozenMerc

FrozenMerc

Your budget is going to limit your options. Your best bet would be to find a heavy duty 3 spd + OD manual. They were put in Galaxies and Pickups behind FE's. The light duty versions behind sixes, y-blocks, and windsor small blocks won't help you much. You should be able to find a good one for a couple hundred. A Hurst floor shifter will bolt right up.

In the $500+ range along with a new bell housing, will get you a good used 4 speed top loader, or a truck 4 speed (think New Process 435 or similar, granny low, heavy ass iron box). No overdrive though.

In the $3000+ range you can get a brand new Tremec TKO 5 or 6 speed manual and a Quicktime Bellhousing to mate it to the FE. Overdrive, bullet proof and requires the removal of your favorite money tree.