Register now to get rid of these ads!

Just Another Intro...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Tommy R, Dec 10, 2004.

1. Tommy R

Tommy R

Hey y'all,

Well, I understand it's customary around here for a newcomer to introduce himself, so here I am. Name's Tommy and I've been lurking for a few months. As of now I'm sorry to say I don't have a cool hot rod, kustom, or....hell, let's face facts. I don't own anything cool at the moment. [​IMG] I've been racing cars (modern ones, though) for several years now and I've built a few, too. Making sparks in the garage is something I'm very accustomed to. [​IMG]

I've always had a fondness towards real hot rods. When I started liking them as a kid I wasn't aware that they were considered "traditional". In my mind, those were the real hot rods and the newer, flashy stuff should've needed a different name. Poseur rods, maybe? [​IMG] Anyway, I'll be the first to admit that my knowledge and experience with hot rods is somewhat limited. But, my enthusiasm for them is second to none. I don't know how much I'll be able to contribute here from a technical standpoint, but I'll do what I can. And I've always got an opinion to share! I'm really just looking to learn.

So far, about the most fun project I've worked on is my mini-chopper. It started life as a piece o' crap that I picked up in a junkyard in Topeka, Kansas for $20. With the help of some buds, some beer and afer lots of chopping, raking, and bending we turned it into a traditional or "old school" chopper....or at least my version of one. We jokingly referred to ourselves as Williamson County Choppers (Wilco Choppers, for short) and the name stuck.

More details along with the build-up pics are located on our simple website:

Wilco Choppers