Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Judson flathead supercharger - chances?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Speedbug78, Jul 22, 2020.

1. Speedbug78

Speedbug78

I've been up close and personal with Judsons on VWs, but I'd really like one for my flathead build. What are my chances for finding one? What is a fair price? I'm a noob to flathead stuff. I'm not too worried about hp. Is there a better "old looking" option?

2. Pete1

Pete1
    from Wa.

I don't know if it is any "better" but it is different and strictly nostalgia and that is a McCullogh centrifugal. They turn up occasionally on eBay. Properly set up they will put you in the 140 hp area.

Speedbug78 likes this.
  3. Speedbug78

Speedbug78

4. Pete1

Pete1
    from Wa.

I installed one about 60 years ago. It was a new kit and went on with no problems. It definitely was able to be felt in the seat of the pants performance. I never had one apart.
    If I did one these days, I would put a new 250 Stromberg on top.

5. Okay, what are you going for? That would help.;)

6. Speedbug78

Speedbug78

"Okay, what are you going for?"
    Well hmm. I like style, I like old stuff, I like many uncommon things but uncommon can cross the line to weird pretty quickly.

Judsons aren't real common and I've had some interaction with so they are a bit special to me.
    McCulloch's have a pretty good history back into the 30's and have the style of that period.

Detroits and Scots look similar overall and detroits have been used very extensively for a long long time. Street cars, dragsters anything with a blower has used something that looks like this until paxtons became popular.

Not that blowers are common among cars in general.

Sorry its tough to explain.

7. SCoT is the correct acronym. It stands for Supercharger Company of Torino (Turin).

So this is one of those "I'll like it when I see it" briefs?