Register now to get rid of these ads!

I type slow

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by lowbuckhr, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. lowbuckhr
    Joined: Dec 10, 2013
    Posts: 2

    lowbuckhr
    Member

    Is there a time limit as to how long it takes to enter a new thread here?
    I just spent 45 minutes writing about the specs of my 1930 Chevy,and every thing I wrote went blank!
     
  2. 40StudeDude
    Joined: Sep 19, 2002
    Posts: 9,405

    40StudeDude
    Member

    Type it into a word.doc...then cut and paste it into a thread...saves you time, let's you edit for spelling, punctuation and paragraphs...don't know if there is a time limit...

    R-
     
  3. oldolds
    Joined: Oct 18, 2010
    Posts: 2,964

    oldolds
    Member

    You need to click the "keep me signed in " box when you sign in. You will be signed in all the time unless you turn off your device.
     
  4. X2 for using word before and cutting and pasting for long posts
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. 54nomore
    Joined: Nov 5, 2012
    Posts: 137

    54nomore
    Member
    from illinois

    It's the "remember me" box. Same thing happened to me when I first joined.

    Welcome to the site.
     
  6. nrgwizard
    Joined: Aug 18, 2006
    Posts: 1,164

    nrgwizard
    Member
    from Minn. uSA

    Yes, the "remember me" helps.

    Or, type away, & before you hit send, left-click, hi-light, & right-click & copy. then if it disappears, just right-click & paste. & it's there. Learned the hard way. Any forum I post on , this gets done now.

    FWIW.

    Marcus...
     
  7. Snot Rocket
    Joined: Sep 8, 2012
    Posts: 122

    Snot Rocket
    Member

    Or you can just post as you write. After you have posted something, there is an "edit" button on the bottom which lets you do anything you need to fix the post, including adding new content.
     
  8. metal man
    Joined: Dec 4, 2005
    Posts: 2,948

    metal man
    Member

    Ha, I've been here for eight years and I just found out yesterday what the "remember me" box is for. The same thing used to happen to me before I got quicker at typing.
     
  9. oldsjoe
    Joined: May 2, 2011
    Posts: 2,523

    oldsjoe
    Member

    I hear ya about the slow typing lowbuck! The whole quick brown fox deal didn't help me much either! Two fingers and the occasional thumb can only move so fast! WELCOME and ENJOY!
     
  10. I type slow and have had that happen, too so I took a chance a couple years ago and ordered the Dragon (speech recognition) software that you're seeing advertised on TV now, it helped me and I still do the long ones in Word and cut and paste. Takes a little while to get the program dialed in but it does work.
     
  11. 1955IHC
    Joined: Aug 20, 2013
    Posts: 636

    1955IHC
    Member

    Smart phones computers etc come with that now



    Sent via Illinois Bell Telephone Company's Car Radiotelephone
     
  12. It's happen to all of us at one time or another. HRP
     
  13. fleet-master
    Joined: Sep 29, 2010
    Posts: 1,770

    fleet-master
    Member

    Usta drive me NUTS!! Nearly put my fist throught the screen once or twice....then I read about ticking the 'remember me' box when logging in and its been happy days ever since :):D
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.