Register now to get rid of these ads!

I hate to throw out any thing cause I might need it.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by no6, Jul 28, 2013.

1. Believe it or not I have had this piece of 1 3/4" round stock for 39 years and finally used it today to make a spacer. How do I know I had it 39 years? I graduated in 1974, in my Junior or Senior year in high school I was making guns in shop class (try that today), if you look close you can see where I started to file the dovetail in it to hold the tang which holds the barrel to the stock. This just justifies my compulsion to keep things in case I need it for something. Is anyone else this bad of a hoarder?

Attached Files:

2. 56sedandelivery

56sedandelivery
    Member Emeritus

My problem is, I tend to either give things away, or throw them out..........then down the road, I need them! But, I only have so much room. Butch/56sedandelivery.

3. jerseymike

jerseymike

my dad used to say, save it for 7 years, if you don't use it after 7 years, save it for 7 more:eek: needless to say he didn't throw out anything!

4. One man's junk is another man's treasure and when I die my wife and kids will throw away my treasure and wonder why I kept all that junk.

5. boojoe

boojoe

I have a one year rule if I don't use it in a year out it goes!!

6. matthew mcglothin

matthew mcglothin

You are not alone.. I also do the same. I have about 4 five gallon buckets full of little pieces like that. Hey, your gonna need that stuff one day.

7. Hookedtrout

Hookedtrout
    from East Idaho

I can certainly relate! I keep everything. Spent a lot of time with my grandparents when I was young and they went through the depression so my grandmother reused aluminum foil, sandwich bags...everything was washed and used till it fell apart. I learned to keep everything. My only problem, when I need it, I know I have it but can never find it until I buy a new one and then it magically appears!

8. The37Kid

The37Kid