Register now to get rid of these ads!

I accidently bought a welding machine today!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by y'sguy, Jan 14, 2009.

1. y'sguy

y'sguy
    from Tulsa, OK

Ya, I didn't go shopping for one. I was at Home Depot and walked by the clearance table. There was a Lincoln Weld Pak 180 their for $340 bucks.
    Searching back inside my brain- I remebered that that might be cheap. I checked list price and sure enough they are $799? It is missing the regulator, which I hope I can buy seperatly? I have no idea which one to get. And I might add I've not welded anything in about 35 years. So I guess i'm gonna get started learning something new.
    I think I went there in the first place to look for some kitchen cabinet stuff for her and forgot to look at them! The little women is not to excited about the new purchase. :eek:

What should I do for the regulater? I have no idea. Welding newbie here, only know enough to burn something up. I better start reading.

2. jerry

jerry

Regulator is prety much generic, any welding store will have them. Along with gas tank.

jerry

3. punkabilly1306

punkabilly1306
    from ohio

regulator will run you about 75-90$ for everything

4. fab32

fab32
    Member Emeritus

If the machine is complete except for the regulator and is in working order you made a good deal . You can buy a regulator for a lot less than the price difference.

Frank

5. hoggyrubber

hoggyrubber

i have seen flowmeters on ebay for under $20, i got a smith a while back for my tig. you might check around locally for a used bottle too. most welding shops will trade bottles in for a 75/25 mix like you need. they don't even have to be argon/ co2 just marked sold.

jrlphx likes this.
  6. I SMELL SMOKE

I SMELL SMOKE

you got a deal!! thats a good little welder.youll be very happy with it

7. superbeeme

superbeeme
    from georgia