Register now to get rid of these ads!

How to tell Ford 292 from 312?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by NoCentsRacing, Jan 9, 2006.

1. How can you tell the difference between the 292 and a 312? I looking at my buddy's 57 F-1 and trying to figure out which engine it is. Was the 312 even available in the truck? Thanks.

2. HEATHEN

HEATHEN
    from SIDNEY, NY

I'm not a Ford expert, but I don't believe 312s were ever available in a pickup (not to say that someone couldn't have dropped one in sometime during the past 49 years; I've found more than one Merc flathead in a truck). In fact, if it's the original engine, chances are it's a 272.

3. There were some strange sizes in the full size trucks. They had sodium filled valves and different exhaust headers. Other than pulling a head off and measuring, I can't remember anything to make this easy.

4. alchemy

alchemy

Look in ford-y-block.com

5. HEATHEN

HEATHEN
    from SIDNEY, NY

I just spoke to a Y block man, and he tells me that if the engine's still in the vehicle, the only sure way is to pull a head to measure the bore, or pull the pan to check the main bearings (312 had larger diameter main journals than the other Y blocks).

6. Shane T.

Shane T.

Look Up Its Skirt (pistom Diameter That Is)

7. 286merc

286merc
    from Pelham, NH

The 272 was available in the 57 F100 as well as the 292. There were some 312's factory installed in 63-64 for fleet use in mountain states.
    Unless it was changed the 57 272 has a 3 bolt carb and the 292 has a 4 bolt 2bbl. Distributors are different also; 57 was a transition year.

The first step is to get the casting # and go here:

http://www.ford-y-block.com/Block identification.htm

Note that a fair amount of data is missing, particularly larger trucks and post 57 Mercs.

The only way to positively tell a 292 from a 312 is the same way to tell a real blond. The 312 has ECZ mains caps, all the others are EBU.

8. seymour

seymour
    from PNW