Register now to get rid of these ads!

Homade fuel tank anyone ?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by chucksdart, May 29, 2010.

1. chucksdart

chucksdart
    from Mo.

I am wondering how difficult it is to make a fuel cell/tank ? I looked in the tech archives and didn't come up with any . Has anybody done it ? I guess my big question is , using either steel or aluminum , is it possible to mig weld a tank and not have a big mess ? How bad would the welds leak and could it be sealed inside with tank sealer and work OK ? I'm having a shitload of trouble trying to find a ready made cell/tank to fit where I want and really don't have the cash for a custom made one . Let's hear from those who have done it/tried it . Thanks .

2. Triggerman

Triggerman
    from NorCal

I am a sheetmetal worker by profession. When it finally came time to make a tank for 56NoBrakes 29 A I made one outta stainless. I broke it up on my employer's cornice brake and tig welded the seams. I won't BS you, if you want something custom made to fit the space available it is a lot of work. Just like you, we wanted something to maximize the tank capacity in the little space available so no premade tank would work. If you do choose to make one be SURE you put baffles in the tank.

Joe

3. 29nash

29nash
    BANNED
    from colorado

4. chucksdart

chucksdart
    from Mo.

I don't have access to a tig or a brake so there would be more welded seams than I would like and they would be mig welded . In your experienced opinion Joe , do you think it's worth trying given my being limited to a mig and would it be better with steel or aluminum ? Thanks for the info .

5. movingviolation

movingviolation

I had a tank made out of steel to fit in the kick of my model a Rpu chassis... it was Mig welded and pressure tested.... There was a baffle added as well...

6. gearheadbill

gearheadbill