Register now to get rid of these ads!

HEMI ID please

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by AstroZombie, Jan 8, 2011.

1. AstroZombie

AstroZombie

Just got these pics from a non car guy buddy, who thought I'd be interested :D:eek:
    Car is a 50's imperial and has what looks to be a 392, but I'm not an expert. Thought I could get an assist from HAMB land.

I have a shot at getting the engine and trans very very dirt cheap because they guy is buying the car for scrap, (Entire pass side is creamed) :rolleyes:

Thanks!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. fiveohnick2932

fiveohnick2932
    from Napa, Ca.

It looks like a 392. I look at the distance from the valve cover surface to the water outlet. if its around a 1/2 inch or so they are 392 heads and since the motor looks stock I would bet its all 392.

3. Deuces

Deuces

Today is your lucky day!! :)

4. 55chevr

55chevr

not sure from the photo ... valve covers are "Chrysler Firepower" ... my '57 Imperial 392 has "Imperial" valve covers.

5. Hemi8me

Hemi8me

Just buy it and fast!!!!
    <input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

6. 41hemi

41hemi

The water pump is a 1955-1956 one-piece pump and water crossover. Car is either a 55-56. Engine should be a 331 if it's a 55 and a 354 if it's a 1956.

7. AstroZombie

AstroZombie

I wish I had more info to share, but the car is in a neighboring state and these photos are all he gave me.... If he gets the car the engine and transmission will be mine, it's so much of a steal I kinda feel bad :) If things work out, he gets the car I get the running gear THEN it will be my lucky day!

Thanks for the info so far guys!

8. 41hemi

41hemi

Ask the guy if the car has a pushbutton shifter or a lever shifter sticking out of the dash. Pushbutton is 1956 and the lever would be 1955.