Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs Grinding Sound part throttle

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by "Whitey Ford" 62 Uni, May 9, 2022.

1. "Whitey Ford" 62 Uni

"Whitey Ford" 62 Uni
    from Tampa, FL

Ive got a 41 Plymouth with a 350/350 combo and a Chrysler rear end 8.25. I have been fighting a weird grinding sound for several months now which is usually at part throttle OR anything past 70 mph.

So far i have rebuilt the entire rear end, new U joints, new wheel bearings etc. havent done anything with the transmission because this sound seems to come from the rear. ive had a buddy look into this rear end several times with different shims etc. he also states there are no marks in the rear end.

Its really bad once i get up to 70. after the u joints its gotten better at lwoer speeds but still there. its only under part throttle at low speeds but once i get up to 70 it sounds like absolute hell. Ive read that maybe transmission? from previous owner that was rebuilt as well. anyway anyone have some past issues with a major grinding sound at around 70.

Attached Files:

• 41.jpg
      41.jpg
      File size:
      146.9 KB
      Views:
  2. Petejoe

Petejoe
    from Zoar, Ohio

Nice looking Plymouth.
    SECURELY place it on a lift or on blocks and engage the wheels. Get yourself an old radiator hose and do some investigating.

3. U joints phased correctly? Check drive line angle?

hidez57 and Almostdone like this.
  4. tommyd

tommyd
    from South Indy

And driveline noise can travel up and down the shaft making it harder to locate.

egads likes this.

5. Is the pinion angle correct, relative to angle of trans output shaft?

6. Kevin Ardinger

Kevin Ardinger

Sounds like something may be grounded out to me. Exhaust hitting the frame or something, motor or trans mount. Something like that. Very seriously doubt it is the transmission.

lostmind, spudshaft and jaracer like this.
  7. "Whitey Ford" 62 Uni

"Whitey Ford" 62 Uni