Register now to get rid of these ads!

Got parts but need help on where/how to start

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bluthndr, Apr 27, 2005.

1. bluthndr

bluthndr

Here's what I got. Mechanical stuff is easy but I'm new to fab/metalwork. Do I need the frame first? If so, do I use an original A frame or make my own???

If I make my own out of 2x3, do I bring in the body first and build around it?

Like I said - this is my first time and any help/direction would be awesome from all you guys who seem to turn out a few cars a year - or anyone for that matter.

Do I need my axles first? No Idea where to start...

For what it's worth I will be using Model A front axle and susp, Model A rear susp a top a GM 10-bolt with a T5 trans and 4 wheel drum brakes (don't have yet). I'm planning on channelling the body about 5" - 5" chop too, but I figure that can come last...

I'm thinking bring in the body, get it sitting how I want, set the engine in there on some blocks or something and build around it. Is there a better way?

2. jalopy43

jalopy43
    Member Emeritus

What I did- I layed some 2x3" tubing over the stock frame, to approxamate the taper.and length. welded some temp. x- members .Placed the body ove the frame,build mounts to fit the body. Add motor mounts, trans x member,build the rest, and your done.:D Sparky

3. Fat Hack

Fat Hack
    from Detroit

Damn...if you're gonna channel it five inches, then CHOP it that much...you better be REALLY short if you wanna fit in that thing when you're done!

How you begin and what you should do FIRST depends upon your finances, the parts you have on hand, and your abilities vs what you must farm out. If you have a Model A body and frame, the best route might be to start with those. That way, your body already fits the frame, and you can always box the rails and add crossmembers, mounts or brackets as needed. Also, your Model A front suspension is an easy fit to an A frame.