Register now to get rid of these ads!

ghost paint

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jtay78, May 28, 2011.

1. jtay78

jtay78

i got a freind wanting ghost flames and the whloe roof done the same way....... im a flake guy and have never done ghost anything... any suggestions? what to use? any tricks?

2. Smokin' Joe

Smokin' Joe
    Member Emeritus

What color is his car?

3. jtay78

jtay78

Its a dark blue....

4. american opel

american opel
    from ohio

im no pro painter but i have messed around alittle.after the car is primed and ready to go tape off your flames ect.spray a coat or two.remove and spray the whole car.the flames will be alittle darker because of the extra coats.i have only done this on a boat,and the side of my wifes washing machine{yeah she doesnt like it}.im sure there are some people that can give you some better info.have fun and let us know how it turns out.

5. Rocky72

Rocky72
    from Pa.

I just finished ghost flames on a maverick , I taped out my flames and I mixed prism powder in my clear and just shot it very light , the more coats you put on the more the flames will show . I went heavier in the turns and on the flames tails to make it look better and then cleared it all . The prism powder I got from ebay. Fairly easy and I'm no pro, trust me.

Rocky

6. chopolds

chopolds
    from howell, nj
    1. Kustom Painters

There are several versions of "ghost" graphics that people talk about. Some are more "ghosty" than others.
    First version: paint the base color, tape flames and then mix the original color with a little extra silver, black, flake or pearl, and shoot the whole flame area, or just the edges. Done right, they are not really ghost, just a slightly different color flame, but subtle.